Maarika Traat

Tartu, Tartu county, Estonia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarika’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Estonian, Italian; learning Arabic, French, German, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • I feel being an eternal student would suit me best, but r...
  • English language & literature, computational linguistics,...
  • From Tartu, Estonia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To meet nice couchsurfers: both where I live and while traveling :-)


All about me? Isn't this question a bit ambitious? I am curious (not in the sense of being nosy, no, no) - I like to learn and try out all kinds of new things all the time. I like personal freedom: in all the senses the word has. I would like to visit all countries and every single place in the world, but probably my life is too short, and unfortunately one also has to earn a living, which imposes its own restrictions. I love outdoor activities: hiking, biking, walking, etc. I have many more, both good and bad traits of character ...


Don't worry, be happy! (Err ... I'm not very good at following it, but I keep trying ...)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host and would like to be hosted ...



All the usual interests listed in most of the profiles. I keep discovering new things that I'm interested in ...

Music, Movies, and Books

I really liked "Vicky, Christina, Barcelona" that I saw relatively recently (and the soundtrack!!!). Some years ago I saw "Frida" (and its soundtrack!!!), which I watched several times (very uncharacteristic of me). I love all kinds of music that has some impact on me, independent of the style. I don't really like jazz, sorry, I guess that's an aqcuired taste - maybe one day ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hiked up to Etna and saw the lava (amazing beyond words) and the smoke and stones being thrown out of the craters, and the noise they made!!! Recently I went to Norway and was overwhelmed by the beauty of the fjords and the colour of the sea ...

Teach, Learn, Share

Every now and then I discover that I have something to teach to other people, but it really depends on the person. I like learning new things all the time. I am quite a freak as far as learning languages goes. I would also like to become a very good programmer (although this sounds pretty nerdy) - since this might give me the personal freedom, I desire so much - you can program in any part of the world ...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Italy, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarika’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups