Maciej Giers's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maciej’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Polish, Spanish; learning Portuguese, Russian, Swedish, Uzbek
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • NGO Worker
  • Univeristy of Warsaw
  • From Warsaw, Masovian Voivodeship, Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a student of the University of Warsaw (Applied Linguistics). I've always been curious of the world and I travel since I remember.
I have a lot of passions and hobbies. First of all history, politics and other cultures. I also used to train cycling. I love classical music (especially Felix Mendelssohn and Gustav Mahler) and opera. I'm also a NGO activist and active volunteer . So I'm sure that we'll find something in common :) In my free time I also write short stories and (let's say) poems :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because traveling is nothing without people.

Interests

History, politics, global affairs, languages, culture, classical music (and the history of the classical music) opera, writing, cycling.

  • culture
  • writing
  • poetry
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • opera
  • cycling
  • history
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: (classical) Felix Mendelssohn, Gustav Mahler, Fryderyk Chopin, Johannes Brahms; (non-classical) Jaromir Nohavica, Lenningrad, Lube and others :)
Books: J.R.R. Tolkien, Ernest Hemingway
Movies: "Train of Life", "Dzień świra"...

Generally, I don't like to call something "THE BEST"... there are a lot of good books, but I cannot state that "this one is the best one" :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I climbed the mountain Babia Góra in the night to see a sunrise.
I rode a horse on Kirghiz steppe.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you feel like superhero I can try to teach you Polish :)
(It's not so easy!)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Inhabitants of Warsaw are very specific sort of Poles. I live here since my birth and I would say, that I understand this city. Therefore I can show you Warsaw you won't see during typical sightseeing tour, and explain history and mentality of this city and this country :)

I can host max. 2 people. Grateful for request at least one week prior to the day of arrival to my place 😊

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Maciej’s full profile.

My Groups