Eivind Magnus Hvidevold's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eivind Magnus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 665 references 570 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian Nynorsk; learning German
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Freelance
  • Master's Degree in Computer Science
  • From Bergen, Vestland, Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I prefer accepting last minute couch surfers, due to not wanting to plan ahead. I prefer to get a request 2 days before arrival.

I now try to host only a few surfers per time with maximum 6 to have more quiet relaxed time and to focus more on getting to know each person. I used to host many people at the same time in the same room, usually around 9, but 13 is the record, so it used to be to think about if you can handle sleeping on mats on the floor near to other couch surfers, but I still prefer the mentality of persons who don't expect luxury. If you want to know how many people are coming in a particular day please ask. I keep the schedule privately in a spreadsheet.

IMPORTANT, IF MAYBE STRANGE FOR YOU: I am quite annoyed by some sounds that people normally make, and the worst sound in the world for me is when people sniffle, which is the sound from breathing quickly in from the nose to move the water inside nose. So if you have a cold or just make this sound by habit please clean your nose often and try not to make this sound otherwise, or I will just go to my room or wear headphones or both if it's too annoying for me. My reaction to this sound when it annoys me is otherwise usually to make a similar but opposite (breathing out, rather than in) sound from nose, which in my "secret language" means to please stop making that sound, and I might avoid looking at you as well. There are however a variety of textures of the sound due to many factors, such as loudness and force, and some are more tolerable than others.

If you need advice writing a request, check out https://www.nehakay.com/couchsurfing-guide .

ABOUT ME

Well, I used to work for Microsoft, educated in Mathematics and Computer Science, but now as a hobby I am programming computer games. I am a bit shy sometimes, but not always, and quite lazy about talking a lot. I perhaps prefer more walking than talking, but I don't mind to listen.

My address is Fanavegen 81, Bergen, Norway. My phone number is +47 92 678 423. I have Whatsapp (but only using it when couch surfers are coming). I prefer to meet at my place on arrival. Just call me. Doorbell has my name and H404.

My Facebook is at https://www.facebook.com/mangoblueberry .

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am a Norwegian guy hosting in Bergen. We can go somewhere together to see the city, go to restaurants, talk, play some cards or sing karaoke with YouTube on my TV if you want. I am tired of Scrabble :p

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had more than 1000 visitors :) .

Around 61% of hosted requests are female and 39% male.

Most hosted countries are 1. Poland, 2. Germany, 3. USA, 4. Ukraine, 5. France, 6. Spain, 7. Turkey, 8. Russia, 9. Czech, 10. Mexico.

A Polish girl even stayed for 3 months and cleaned the apartment and made dinners and another Polish girl stayed for a few months, two more Polish girls working here during summer, one guy from California a month, a guy from Mexico more or less 6 months on and off, a girl from Singapore 1 month and a girl from Italy a few weeks and a girl from Belarus more than 6 months.

Interests

I love dancing and I used to dance couples' dance Salsa, Bachata, Zouk mostly but I also tried some other dances like Argentinian Tango and Boogie Woogie and when I was younger going to Zumba which is more gym like dancing. And I went to the clubs dancing as well, but now not. Lately I've been reading some books, e.g. Homo Deus, 12 Rules for Life, Thinking Fast and Slow, taking walks in the city, going to dinner and cafes with a friend, watching movies, YouTube etc. I like to listen to the philosophy of Alan Watts, sometimes also Jordan Peterson.

  • books
  • singing
  • dancing
  • tango
  • bachata
  • beer
  • zumba
  • walking
  • shopping
  • reading
  • tv
  • karaoke
  • scuba diving
  • computer science
  • freelancing
  • mathematics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I've been watching lots of TV series, I like Dexter, Breaking Bad, HIMUM, Big Bang Theory, Mad Men, Narcos, Riverdale, Friends and Better Call Saul. I love Twin Peaks.

My favourite songs Echoes by Pink Floyd, What's up by 4 Non Blondes.
My favourite album is Moon Safari by Air.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've traveled to Asia with my family, China, Malaysia, Thailand and diving in Egypt in the Red Sea saw barracudas along a cliff wall to 800m depth, worked abroad for Microsoft in Boston in US and stayed at MIT fraternity, and I worked for a company in Ghent in Belgium.

Teach, Learn, Share

Ask me to teach you about brown cheese, smalahove or lutefisk. And what used to be my favourite shot. And about ginger syrup if I have it on hand.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Playing cards or karaoke.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Eivind Magnus’s full profile.

My Groups