Manuel Maggiore's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning Dutch, Portuguese
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Physical Therapist
  • University of Padua
  • From Santarcangelo di Romagna, Rimini, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Ciao! I'm Manuel and I'm an Italian physiotherapist and I changed my life from working all the time to traveling all around the world. In 2 years I visited Canary Islands and South America. I currently attend a MsC program in KU Leuven, Belgium in rehabilitation and science.

Future plans are specializing myself in neurological disorders and travelling Europe (the most eco-like mode if possible🌍 ). As for longer-term goals to achieve, I wanna find a place where the functionality of a city and the beauty of nature are perfectly combined.

I can define myself as a friendly, open-minded, easy-going and respectful person. I usually talk a lot as I love connecting with others, but sometimes I can be more reserved and speak less. I love outgoing, truly and sociable people that live their life without many problems. I always try to make people happy as I adore smiles and joyful moments, then it's normal if I can appear a little bit stupid 🤣 just trying to have fun with you!

Travel diary 📔
Corsica Island 🇫🇷 by bike 2011
Monaco, Dachau 🇩🇪 2012
Geneva 🇨🇭 2012
Praga 🇨🇿 first plane ever 2012
Barcelona 🇪🇸 2013
Tanzania 🇹🇿 for two volunteering weeks 2014
Barcelona 🇪🇸 2015
Kyoto 🇯🇵 2015
Oporto, Braga 🇵🇹 2018
Algarve, Lisboa 🇵🇹 2018
Kyoto, Nara, Kanazawa, Shikarawa 🇯🇵 2018
Tokyo 🇯🇵 for ninjutsu training 2019
Andalusia 🇪🇸 2019
Amsterdam 🇳🇱 2019
Tenerife 🇪🇸 2021
Enschede 🇳🇱 2021
Perù 🇵🇪 2022
Bolivia 🇧🇴 2022
Colombia 🇨🇴 2022
Belgium 2023

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Thanks to many friends, I had the chance to know what Couchsourfing really means, and it's what I was looking for. Actually, my family and I always hosted friends at home, even for months, and this is something similar that I love and I really appreciate.

Unfortunately, I can't host because I'm traveling, but in the future I'll definitely use this app to share my experience and my house with others.

I'm using this app also because I can live with local people in a town or village, connect with them and share great moments together. Yeah, u pay nothing for a bed, and this is wonderful when traveling, but it's the relationship and the experience that u create with another person that is amazing for me.

Interests

🏳️‍🌈 I'm obviously smitten with visiting new places, I feel it like a necessity and I'm constantly in search of new experiences. ✈️

🍕I can cook some delicious Italian meals, but I'm better in eating them (and quite a lot sometimes🤤😅). The best for me is finding one of that little local low-price restaurants in a town where u can eat a lot and well. High-priced restaurants ain't hands down my cup of tea. 🥑
As for food, I can define myself flexitarian, I love meat and fish but I believe that it's not necessary to eat them daily, and this is not only for ethical and environmental reasons, but also for an excessive food consumerism that needs to be stopped. 🍷

🤸🏽‍♂️ I like keeping myself fit in every possible way, from workout at home to running and other sports. I'm a fan of beach volley and I wanna brush up on my surfing skill, but I'm very glad if I can practice other sports. 🏐

📒Actually, I love learning everything that it's new to me, I wanna become that guy that is able to do everything and that knows many things through his own experience.📕

🔨 I'm also smitten with my job, being a physiotherapist means many things, like getting in touch with many people, helping them when they really need, being The perfect listener that they cannot find in others. I love everything of physiotherapy, I'd say that my soul have really found the right job, like that path that u're looking for to feel perfect in life and say 'Yeah, that's for sure what I wanna do'. 🔨

🌴 I adore the connection with nature. When I visit a new country, I like sightseeing cities with museum and other main attractions, but it's not a patch on exploring nature, where I feel completely captivated by everything. I live in a medium-sized town, but I wanna find my dream house sorrounded by trees or mountains or close to a river or with a view of the sea waves. 🌲

📸 As my memory hard disk in my brain isn't so efficient, I always love taking photos of the places that I visit. If they are really good or they mean something for me, I love printing them to remember better the greatest and most significant moments of a trip. My home's becoming a museum of my experiences. 📷

💃I'm not a person that loves shopping, and I possibly try to sustain local markets instead of big shopping centers or online websites. I'm more for ethnical clothes, and I always dress very easy and comfortable, I don't care about appearance. 💅🏻

  • documentaries
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • chocolate
  • beer
  • vegetarian
  • fitness
  • running
  • partying
  • drinking
  • video games
  • traveling
  • violin
  • opera
  • sports
  • volleyball
  • volunteering
  • mountains
  • nature
  • tv series
  • friends
  • wanderlust
  • gaming
  • film
  • diving
  • beach volleyball
  • open mind
  • walking in nature

Music, Movies, and Books

I can share my playlists with you, and there you can see that I love every genre, from Linkin Park and Christina Aguilera to Etta James and The Beatles. Exceptions are rap and trap, but I can listen to them for a while.
Also a Latin soul, from salsa to reggae, and I love classical music, mainly where violin sound is the protagonist.

As for books, I usually read thriller and fantasy and occasionally something more scientific, like Ramachandran and Sacks.

Now I'm more into TV series than films, and I have a wide range of preferences, ranging from the popular GoT to the strange Sense8. I have Netflix and I love many of its TV series. I'm also in love with anime movies 🤩 Miyazaki is second to none.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Meditation in a zen Japanese temple in Nara 🇯🇵
- Tea ceremony in a tea house in Kyoto 🇯🇵
- Running for 30km twice 🇮🇹
- Walking 28km on train tracks to get to Machu Picchu 🇵🇪
- Climb a glacier up to 5150m in Huaraz 🇵🇪
- See anacondas, toucans and sloths in the Amazzonia forest 🇧🇴 🇵🇪

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook Italian typical meals, help you with my physiotherapist skills, be an active good listener for your bad and good events in life and be a good friend, even if you live in a far-off place from mine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Italy, Japan, Monaco, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bolivia, Colombia, Italy, Peru, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel’s full profile.