Logo orange

Manuel Puebla

Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires City, Argentina

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 21 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 66 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning German, Italian, Portuguese
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Mathematician
  • Master of Science in Mathematics
  • From Berazategui, Gran Buenos Aires
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Mathematician, sagittarian, jazz aficionado.

Love red meat and red wine (and certainly many other beverages...)

Grew up in a typical middle class family from the suburbs of Buenos Aires - moved to BA city in 2006 and been living here ever since.

Matemático, sagitariano, amante del jazz y las carnes rojas - fanático del vino tinto y otras bebidas nocturnas.

Crecí en una típica familia de clase media de los suburbios de Buenos Aires - en 2006 me mudé a Buenos Aires y desde entonces que vivo acá.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted

MAY 2013 DREIDE - Russia.
MAR 2013 Alec Zimmerman - USA.
DEC 2012 Eve Luna - Italy.
NOV 2012 Adriano Caccavello - Italy.
NOV 2012 Raisa Musakka + Juan José - Finland + Ecuador.
JUL 2012 Georges Hamen - Luxembourg.
JUL 2012 Elizaveta Ashmarova - Russia.
MAY 2012 Sarita Aristizabal - Colombia.
APR 2012 Anna L - USA.
AUG 2011 Elizabeth Casian - USA.
AUG 2011 Tobias Zortea - Austria.
JUL 2011 Cecilia Nobre - Brazil.
APR 2011 Mieko Kanekawa - Japan.
APR 2011 Camilo Jaramillo - Colombia.
APR 2011 Jen Pullan - England.
APR 2011 Sophie Steinbach - Germany.
MAR 2011 Anna Pignataro - Uruguay.
NOV 2010 Aleksandra Wirkowska - Poland.
NOV 2010 Matías Galarraga - Argentina.
OCT 2010 Filip Cerny - Poland.
OCT 2010 Giulia Scialpi + Sara Coen - Italy.
OCT 2010 Sari Raappana - Finland.
OCT 2010 Sara Aristizabal - Colombia.
OCT 2010 Emmanuelle Bouchard - Canada.
OCT 2010 Therese Dupont - Belgium.
OCT 2010 Inês Valadas + Bruno Paiva - Portugal.
SEP 2010 Alonzo Jara - Neuquen, Argentina.

Surfed

AGO 2012 Anna Pignataro @ Montevideo, Uruguay
AGO 2012 Ana Laura Fortes @ Montevideo, Uruguay
JUL 2012 Luciana Macagno Grifasi @ Córdoba, Argentina
JUL 2012 Vitto, Flor, Sofi @ Córdoba, Argentina
MAR 2011 Sara Morey Pareja @ Lima, Perú
FEB 2011 Carolina López @ Cuenca, Ecuador
FEB 2011 Lizzy Rainey & Alec Zimmerman @ Quito, Ecuador
FEB 2011 Magda Torres Luque @ Bogotá, Colombia
JAN 2011 Francisco, Sandra & Ariane @ Caracas, Venezuela
JAN 2011 Rub Diaz @ Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela
JAN 2011 Ansui @ Isla Margarita, Venezuela
DEC 2010 Adriana Cabeza @ Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela
DEC 2010 Grazie Camilo @ Boa Vista, RR, Brasil

Interests

Well, this is a tough one. Music and films, absolutely a must in my life - they defined the way I feel and perceive the outside world, and still do. I used to play guitar for a couple of bands some time ago.

Mathematics! I like math a lot, and tend to get absorved by puzzles and problems... but don't worry, it's not contagious :P You will notice many math books around my house at all times. Don't freak out, they don't bite.

And of course, TRAVELLING! I love travelling: it's not only about seeing the world, it's also about discovering oneself and getting to know new people. I've travelled South America extensively and met wonderful people on the road. Needless to say, it changed my life.

I am currently very interested in rock climbing and sailing. Outdoor stuff in general. Maybe tempted to do some cycling around Europe some day.

Descending to the mundane pleasures of life: having tasty meals and plenty of quality alcohol is unavoidable :D I'm also very interested in playing pool.

Bueno, esta sección es complicada. Música y pelí­culas, una referencia obligada en mi vida - definieron la forma que tengo de percibir el mundo, y todavía lo hacen. Estudié música de joven y solía tocar la guitarra en dos grupos, uno de rock y otro de música popular latinoamericana. Llegamos a tocar para bastante gente. Ahora, me considero un ex-guitarrista, aunque todos los días agarro la guitarra y toco un poco en casa.

Me gusta muchí­simo la Matemática. Me encanta resolver puzzles y problemas, y suelo colgarme. Ojo igual, no es contagioso :) En casa vas a ver libros de matemática por todos lados... tranqui: no muerden.

Y por supuesto, me encanta VIAJAR: no solamente es un tema de ver el mundo, sino que también es el camino a descubrirse uno mismo y a conocer otras personas. Viajé extensamente por todo Sudamérica y conocí personas increí­bles. No hace falta decir que me cambió la vida.

De momento estoy como muy metido en el tema de caminatas y escalada. Me gustarí­a empezar a hacer más de eso. Cosas al aire libre en general. Estoy pensando
en quizás en algún momento recorrer Europa en bicicleta.

En terrenos más mundanos, me encanta comer y beber en gran medida y calidad. Vino tinto, cerveza tirada, ferné. La buena vida, que le dicen :D

Music, Movies & Books

ZAPPA IS THE MAN.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Laguna de los Tres, Parque Nacional Perito Moreno, Santa Cruz. ABR 2012

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach? MMMMM... maybe you have a hidden passion for Linear Algebra or Multivariable Calculus? Huh - nah, just kidding.

Well, since I teach for a living, I don't know if I'm gonna be in the mood for teaching. However, I'm also in the process of learning how to dance tango - so when I'm skilled enough I can teach you the basics for sure, right here in the living room.

Learning? Yes, I'll be the first one in class. Can you teach me secret pool skills? Curse words in odd languages? :D

Sharing? Yes, and I believe that's the best part. I like this city very much, even though it has become incresingly dirty at times :P Walking around BA is a very nice experience - strolling in Recoleta and its parks, enjoying cultural life in the city center, tango nights in La Catedral or La Viruta, and of course, a good share of stout beer at my favourite pub/ second home Gibraltar!

If you wanna take a peek of my impressions of BA, just go ahead and check out my BA picture galleries at Flickr. You'll find different pictures taken at various moments, mostly when walking around with fellow couchsurfers.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Spain, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina

Join Couchsurfing to see Manuel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile