Mariel Olivera's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 155 references 77 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • English-Spanish Translator
  • No education listed
  • From Quilmes, Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

On a spiritual quest...

Mariano and I have been traveling since 2016. We have already been to South America, Europe and Central America. We made numerous trips traveling and working. Now we're still working a bit but mostly concentrated on traveling and connecting deep with the places, culture and people.

ABOUT ME

I like to learn from the environment in which I move. In these years of travel and life, I learned that life is too short to try to be someone else than myself, I try not to have expectations but accept things as they are. I like do meditation, walk in the mountains, be near nature, do things I've never done before and learn from them, have deep conversations about life with people I don't know but become friends very soon.

I have fears like everyone and I try to recognize them and face them every day.

MISIÓN ACTUAL

En una búsqueda espiritual...

Mi esposo Mariano y yo venimos viajando desde el 2016. Ya anduvimos por Sudamérica, Europa y Centroamérica. Hicimos numerosos viajes viajando y trabajando, y ahora estamos buscando un viaje más de vivir el presente por Europa y tratar de llegar hasta Asia. Nuestro objetivo es poder conocer un poco de Asia y África antes de elegir un lugar para vivir.

PHILOSOPHY

"Solamente cuando se haya envenenado el ultimo río, cortado el último árbol y matado el último pez, el hombre se dará cuenta que no puede comerse el dinero"
"¿Quién está dispuesto a desplazarse, a desaforarse, a descentrarse, a descubrirse?" Julio Cortázar

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Helping travelers, hosting and surfing, going for a mate, learning and teaching.

________________________________

Ayudando a viajeros, hospedando y hospedándome, reuniéndome a tomar café o mate, aprendiendo y enseñando.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted a lot of people and surfed over 100 sofás. All good experiences!

I've been going to meetings very actively since 2011, and I've organised myself some in my city Quilmes, and in Buenos Aires as well.

I've shown my city to many people, hosted many as well and done individual language exchanges too.

I've also volunteered for AFS and helped many youngsters integrate in Argentina and get along with people and culture

Interests

  • arts
  • literature
  • environment
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • movies
  • traveling
  • languages
  • films
  • nature
  • adventure
  • cultures
  • trekking
  • national parks

Music, Movies, and Books

*Films: I like classic, strange films, artistic films, independent films, films of different countries (especially the ones I visit).

*Books: Rayuela, La caída de los gigantes, Isabel Allende, Gustavo Robert, Harry Potter (alguna vez fui fan), Ficciones, Todos los fuegos el fuego, Crónica de una muerte anunciada, Yuval Noah Harari, Hernán Casciari...

*Music: la Delio Valdez, Céu, Divahanna, Beirut, Mercedes Sosa, Las Taradas, Jorge Drexler, Jack Johnson, Andy McKee, Serú Girán, Daniel Maza, Salinas, cualquier tipo de jazz...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Tenemos muchas anécdotas de viajes, difícil decir sólo una

Teach, Learn, Share

Puedo enseñar sobre cualquier país que haya visitado, sobre cómo armar una mochila minimalista, cómo organizar un viaje. Quiero aprender sobre permacultura, construcción sustentable y también los secretos de las provincias argentinas (pueblitos, cultura, comida, historia, etc)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Mil historias de viajes, me gusta cocinar, enseñar lo que sé, darle una vuelta de tuerca a las cosas

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guyana, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Northern Ireland, Peru, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Turkey, Uruguay, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Brazil, Chile

Old School Badges

  • 6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Mariel’s full profile.

My Groups