Marc Roberts's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marc’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French, German, Norwegian, Sign Language - BSL, AUSLAN, NZS
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Analyst / Programmer, business development
  • School of life, self-taught. Read read read.
  • From Port Lincoln, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make the most of my time on the planet. To see every country. Possible?

ABOUT ME

I love to travel, and love to experience new things. I love being challenged. I love finding out other people's version of "normal", constantly reminding me that there is no normal.

PHILOSOPHY

I hope to go through life without adversely affecting anyone else's life. I respect people's choices, if they're personal choices that don't adversely affect others. I think all experiences have equal merit - both good and bad. I love to get lost!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When living in Edinburgh I was happy to host, but London couchsurfing seems a little different, so taking a break. Eventually I'd maybe like take up some couch offers or coffee offers in my travels.

Note: I'm gay. If staying with me please don't be surprised by this after you arrive, since you should be reading all about me if you want to stay at my house. I'm also an Australian living in London - so I'm not English. Again, if you read my profile you should know that my culture is still Australian, so couch requests that say you want to get to know my local English culture, or offer an insight into Australians, will both sound a little cut-n-pasted. I don't say these things to be picky, just want you to know whose house you'd like to be invited into :)

I'm a photographer and am taking a "portrait" of each couch surfer that comes and stays - so don't be surprised when I ask to take your picture! :) Once I have enough portraits I'll be displaying them online somewhere.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have really enjoyed hosting people in my house - it's great to meet travellers from all over!

Interests

I love photography, travelling, programming, reading, coffee, wine, indoor climbing, hill walking, munro-bagging, camping, philosophical discussions, politics, religious discussion, theatre, film, music.

  • culture
  • theater
  • photography
  • wine
  • coffee
  • walking
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • camping
  • languages
  • software
  • brazil
  • theatre
  • portuguese
  • portugal

Music, Movies, and Books

Love "foreign" film, especially French & Spanish and the occasional German film. Not a huge fan of "comedies" but don't mind a laugh in other films. My music taste is eclectic, I'm a big fan of Adele right now. Likewise with books - I'll read most anything. Classics, biographies, and some select sci-fi.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I drove my own rickshaw from the bottom of India to Kathmandu; 4500kms in 17 days. Absolutely amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a contract software developer and happy to share any tips on software, contracting, job hunting. I've also moved to a few different countries (I'm not native to the UK) so I'm able to provide tips on what to expect when changing countries.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritius, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marc’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups