Mare Mascini's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mare’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German, Latin; learning French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • gap year traveler
  • finished high school, applying for med school next year
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hey! I'm an outgoing and ambitious girl from Amsterdam who's currently traveling through North-America. I started couchsurfing a few weeks ago when I had a hard time finding a hostel in Toronto, and so far I love it! I haven't had the chance to host yet but am very excited to do so once I get back from my trip and get my own place.

I grew up both in Amsterdam and in Western Australia. My dad's from the States and my mom's Dutch so I was raised bilingual. I was raised very open-minded and liberal, traveled a lot throughout my childhood and am very open to new ideas and meeting other people! I'm very straightforward, down-to-earth, polite, easygoing and eager to learn about the places I visit (like everyone here is).

Next year I'm going to apply to med school in the Netherlands. My ultimate dream is being a neurosurgeon and having an amazing family whom I get to spend lots of time with. I love going out, spending time with nice people, making music (I play the trumpet and the piano, both mainly classical) and learning whatever there's to learn. Although I grew up in Amsterdam and love its nightlife and going out, I can also appreciate a quiet night at home with a glass of wine and a good movie/tv show/book.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I had a hard time finding a hostel in Toronto (most had a minimum age of 19), a friend recommended Couchsurfing so I thought I'd give it a go! Now that I've tried it a few times I can't believe I haven't found it earlier, I love the fact that you get to meet locals, have a great experience in a new city and the overall vibe and generosity on this platform is simply amazing.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I listen to pretty much everything, I play a lot of classical music myself
Movies: I love to be surprised and check more movies off my list!
Books: hard to say, I like reading but don't know that much about literature

Teach, Learn, Share

The learning part is simple: everything.
As for the other two: love to share my travel experiences (like everyone here loves to do), I know a lot about Dutch history and culture and quite some stuff about Australian culture as well, honestly I can talk about anything.
Sharing: great experiences!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Obviously a new perspective on the world, I can be very helpful around the house, I can make myself scarce when you want me to but I can also be a great gal to have a drink and/or go out with!

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Mare’s full profile.