mari_jo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see mari_jo’s full profile.


  • 38 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Gulf), Indonesian
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

update: As i am currently living/working in Saudi Arabia and staying in company-provided accommodation for employees, i am unable to host people in my flat as it is not allowed (very strict regulations).

I am able and willing to meet up/hang out preferably during my off days on weekends (Fri & Sat) or if i dont have any online classes going on, i can also meet during workdays (except Tuesday, my busiest day of the week. LOL!).

im a regular "plain jane", low maintenance,adventurous, very independent, shy. i often find myself quite content just to listen to other people talk or just silently observe things around me. (But i can be quite talkative too, sometimes. 😂).

i dont smoke nor drink alcohol nor do night-outs and parties.

i prefer nature, the outdoors, and the bucolic life over urban comforts.
im a typical provincial person, and sometimes get "scared" and overwhelmed by big cities.
i am most happy and comfortable in mountains, rural areas/villages, deserts, caves, or wild camping.

i am NOT into dating or anything along that line, so please, do NOT send me any request nor accept my couch request if you have other motives besides cultural exchange. :-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

- language exchange
- travel advice/ recommendations
- travel buddies/ ride-share
- meet people and learn about their culture


adventure, local culture,meeting people, backpacking/ independent travel, recycling

  • culture
  • traveling
  • backpacking

Music, Movies, and Books


One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

being bitten by the WanderBug...solo independent travel...hitchhiking (Turkey,Jordan,Egypt)...crying while i bid farewell to my host family in Urfa (well, it was mostly embarrassing, than amazing😂)...

Teach, Learn, Share

teach - crochet esp if using plarn (e.i. yarn made from used plastic bags. go green!), the Filipino language, how to cook Filipino foods (im not really a good cook, but i could try and teach u some if you're really interested..:-))

share - travel stories, tips, things about my country The Philippines.

learn - other culture, how to cook local foods from different countries, a new language

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook,clean house,language exchange,travel stories, hang out

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahrain, Cambodia, Egypt, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Jordan, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Philippines, Saudi Arabia

Join Couchsurfing to see mari_jo’s full profile.

My Groups