Mark Dekker's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile.


  • 20 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Event Manager slash Improv Actor...
  • Master of Law, Drama Academy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To make the most of everything...


Once upon a time...

... in a land far far away, Mark was born in 1982. He grew up in the magical surroundings of a little town near Rotterdam. In 2000 the story continues as he went on a journey that brought him to Tilburg, in the South of the Netherlands. There, he graduated from Law School and he's been studying theatre at the Drama Academy for a year. After that he made a 2 year around the world trip, had a awesome year back in Holland, moved down under and currently is moving from Amsterdam to Tilburg where I spent my college years...

And he lives happily after after!


My mother gave me a book about the western expression of the eastern spiritual concept of letting go, giving up and finding real freedom by realizing that things don't matter so much (if at all).

The book is called 'Fuck it'...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My friend e-mailed me her couchsurfing expercience in Denmark. At that time I had no travel plans and it seemed like a fun way to meet new people from around the world! And I did... and again... and again...


Almost all of my couchsurf expereniences were awesome! I met amazing people, had delicious local foods, saw great untouritsy spots and love to do the same for people surfing my couch. Some of the people I met through couchsurfing are my friends and we still keep in touch... we still meet up sometimes wherever on this globe!


I work as a project manager in events at a library and as an improv actor and presenter for my own company. I also enjoy creating shows... I ❤ theatre!

Just came back from being abroad again. I got to do amazing things, see amazing sights and meet amazing people in this world... I ❤ travelling!

Being outside is something I enjoy very much. Bushwalking through mountains, swimming under waterfalls, taking pictures of landscapes, snowboarding... I ❤ the outdoors!

I have a very modest Sony camera and it's my challenge to take the most amazing shots with it. I ❤ photography!

  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • acting
  • sauna
  • traveling
  • karaoke
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skydiving
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • law
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: from Pixarkinda movies as Shrek, Ice Age and Dispicable Me to arthouse features as Goodbye Lenin and Little Miss Sunshine and from adventure flicks as Stardust and James Bond to comedies as Superbad and Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I also like Coen Brothers and Baz Luhrman...

Music: I like rocking on Killers, Garbage and No Doubt, I like dancing to La Roux, Lady GaGa and Peter, Bjorn & John, I like listening to Of Monsters & Men, Emeli Sande and P!nk. It will all depend on the mood!

Books: I enjoyd Dutch literature from Ronald Giphart and Tommy Wieringa, like to read suspence books from Harlan Coben, James Marsden and Dan Brown and love cynical writers such as Josie Lloyd and Emlyn Reese...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Enjoying whales from a small boat in Baja California, experiencing the underwater world at Blue Hole 2 in Vanuatu, skydiving at Lake Wanaka, voluntering with the Monkey Mia Beach Dolphins, skinny dipping at sunset after being in a lakeside sauna in Finland, dancing on a boat in the Canal Parade of the Amsterdam Gay Pride, ending up with 5 Japanese people in a karaoke booth!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: improv theatre

Learn: life

Share: thoughts... that and the occassional Insta update of course!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mark’s full profile.

My Groups