Barb Tilander-Mack

Tweed, Ontario, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barb’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Spending my husband's money! - gardening, reading, family...
  • college grad, through the goodness of others, life
  • From Marlbank - grew up next door to my house!!
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Kindness. I'm sure we're not everyone's cup of tea out here in the country! I like piglet's philosophy "If you can't say something nice - don't say anything at all" (unless of course it's a negative reference to warn others)


Hey - my daughter and I would love to meet new people, offer others the opportunity to explore our "neighbourhood" and possibly take advantage of couches around the world. I'm a 40's Mom of a grown daughter - Oma to the most beautiful baby girl int he world - have a wonderful husband who away from home. I spend a great deal of time gardening, woodworking, doing home renos and enjoying life. We have 60 acres - if you like to camp we have a private "campground" in the woods - no facilities - but very beautiful!


If we can help anyone save money on their travels that would be great. We like to be "frugal" when we travel - we have had some interesting "frugal" experiences we paid for - "Anthony's Place" in South Africa - which was just that - Anthony's apartment - he moved out so you could move in - a tree house in Kruger where the monkey's visited during the day - tents in Madagascar that were flooded when the tide came in - many stories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I would love to host others from near and far - I know that to truly experience a country, region or society you need to know the people who live there - I have discovered that resorts don't show you the country - they cater to what you expect as a westerner - I need to know about people - I love people!


Travel, travel, travel, and occasionally we travel! As well, I have a garden, 60 acres to play on, a Mule (Kawasaki that is) and lots of pets!

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything, anything and anything.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We took a dhow boat trip in Madagascar. It was AMAZING!!! We traveled to uninhabited islands, camped on the beaches, viewed lemurs, bats, snakes and cameleons in the wild. Ate amazing food cooked without the convience of a kitchen, pots cleaned with sand and wonderful companionship.

Teach, Learn, Share

Daugther is a Child and Youth Worker - I worked with the disabled - husband works around the world. I love carpentry, decorating and gardening. Meggin likes swimming, "mudding", and travel.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Costa Rica, Cuba, Egypt, Ghana, Jamaica, Madagascar, Panama, Saint Lucia, South Africa, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Barb’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups