Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marloes’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 50 References 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Breton, French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Job avoider
  • Human Geography & Urban Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Never stop exploring!

ABOUT ME

I finished my studies in 2011 and immediately moved to Copenhagen to avoid the full-time-job-deal, get to know the city (amazing!), the culture (interesting!), the people (lovely!) and the language (fail!). After one year, I started planning my return back home as I promised all my friends & family (and myself) to come back. But before I knew it and before I actually reached Holland, I had my ticket for New Zealand booked. I guess I still wasn't quite ready for the working life :) So after an intense and fantastic year of hitch hiking and tramping around NZ, I decided to do it all over again and spend a year in Australia. But Europe was calling! Rich history, all those cultures, very happy to be rediscovering Europe at the moment :)

PHILOSOPHY

Home won't walk away..

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfing, hosting, meeting for a drink, going to local (weekly) meetings and of course helping people out there as well, if I can! :) Secretly I'd love to be a city guide so if you meet me in a city, be prepared for some facts and figures!!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Meeting the nicest, funniest and most open-minded people! Hosting people in my new flat when I just arrived in Copenhagen was perfect!! They were happy to find a place to crash and I had the greatest company in exploring my own new hometown!!

Interests

Vegemite - People - Travelling - Hitch hiking - Tramping - Reading - Bicycling - Cooking and Eating - Chatting - Snowboarding - Hiking - Strolling around town - Kids - Indie music - Architecture - Sustainability - Beer - Live performances - Via Ferrata - Street food - Cities - Culture - History - Exploring Holland - Photography - Festivals - Coffee - City maps - Volcanoes - Geography - Museums - ...

  • culture
  • singing
  • architecture
  • photography
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • cartography
  • geography
  • history
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

No big movies, really. Interesting documentaries or small productions, yes!

I listen mostly to Dutch/local Indie pop with English lyrics. The charm is to be able to see them playing live for the price of three beers :) :)

Books? Most of them but I can't handle thrillers! Not always book-like but I'm really intrigued by (old) city maps!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Can't choose! 1) Becoming a member of an Indian family in Jaisalmer through the traditional ritual (incl. drinking unknown drinks, painting, singing and dancing), 2) Hitch hiking all across New Zealand for 12 months and 3) snorkelling and swimming with ten giant wild sea turtles in Mexico!!

Teach, Learn, Share

In India I was able to integrate with the locals using my English skills but during my backpacking trip in Central America I (yo hablo sólo un poco Español) luckily discovered that tourists can also teach you a lot about their own cultures when travelling themselves! Lots of fun!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Denmark, France, Netherlands, New Zealand, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marloes’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups