Martina Novakova's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 35% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile.

Overview

  • 45 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech; learning English, Portuguese
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Cat lover
  • Charles University in Prague, Faculty of Science
  • From Pelhřimov, Vysočina, Czechia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

! UNFORTUNATELY I don't have a couch now so if you don't mind "Floorsurfing", you are welcome! :-)

Olá,
my name is Martina and I am originally from the small town called Pelhrimov which is located on the border Bohemia and Moravia. I like to say that I was born in the middle of nowhere. :-) . The most of year I spend in Prague where I went my studies of greography and I still have been living here.

During my studies I took the opportunity to stay 1 year abroad doing my Erasmus and I totally fell in love with Portugal, its culture and people. I travelled a lot by hitchiking to explore as much as possible in Portugal and I have to go there from time to time to remind myself how amazing country it is.

After that solo experince that I got, I started to travel alone and I absolutely love it. It helps me to get to know myself much better. Also it brings me more interesting people and experiences into my life.

Now I have to work a bit to survive untill I don't win a lottery. I have found a job that it is very close to my hobbies. I worked for a shop that is focused on the lightest equipments for travelling and ultralight hiking. So I can meet every day a lot of travelers and help them to make their travels (and life) lighter. :-) Thanks to this job I found a new hobby - hiking.

Also I work as a volunteer in the international organisation called Use-It. We make maps of Prague for young travelers without any commercial. Do you want it? Check this website (https://www.use-it.travel/home) or ask me for a paper version.

I call myself as an eco terrorist. I hate all plastic around us and wasting food. I try not to buy new stuff and prefer local brands or secondhand shops. I would love to be a minimalist but it still a lot of work to get to that point.

Nowadays I am a bit busy so I cannot host so often but I am trying to do my best to at least meet travelers. It helps me to keep my international spirit and I always like to show my nice city (Prague or Pelhřimov) to others. I am very bad at history and I know nothing about Czechia but I can show you Prague as a local or recommend you what is worth to visit in Prague or wherever in Czechia. Also I like brutalism and a bit weird architecture.

I am very spontanous and I am not able to plan more than 1 week ahead. It is better to send me a request 1 week before your arrival.

Feel free to ask!

If you are a cyclist, I also have a profile here: https://www.warmshowers.org/user/208296

IG: @martina_zije

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It is not a cheap hostel, a tourist guide for free or a cook. Couchsurfing is the lifestyle that I love. It is the best way how to get to know a country and its culture. I have already met amazing people on Couchsurfing who inspired me a lot and stay in my life. And I believe I can meet more people like that. It opens my eyes and teachs me how to live in this crazy world.

Interests

  • reading
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • hitchhiking
  • zero waste
  • long distance hiking
  • hiking in the mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I love the sound of guitar while i am sitting by the fire/on the beach/in a forest/wherever. Guitar is always a good choice! Unfortunately I cannot play any instrument. If you play it, you will have a big chance being hosted at my place.

I listen to indie/folk mostly australian bands (Stu Larsen, Milky Chance, Mighty Oaks, The Charity Children, Edward Sharpe, Wild Child, Of Monster and Men, The Lumineers, Vance Joy, Junius Meyvant, Jack and the Weatherman Man)

I like books but I cannot organise my time perfectly so I read less than I want. But I got an ereader that i can take anyway with me, even to the tent to read books int the mountains so I believe I will finish this year woth more books read.

I used to watch a lot of movies but now I prefer being outside or with my book. I still like to watch something but not so often. But ... Have you seen Into the wild? No? Watch it! I hate it and love it at the same time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- bike trip from Czechia to Verona (2016)
- bike trip from Prague to Dresden in 2 days (2017)
- bike trip from Czechia to Beograd (2017)
- walking 80 km per 24h (2017)
- 1 year studying in Lisbon (2017/2018)
- Camino de Santiago from Porto (2018)
- my first solo trip to Azores without plan (2018)
- Fisherman trail in Portugal (2018)
- HITCHHIKING ❤️
- shepherd in Balkan (2019)
- GR221 Mallorca (2021)
- Peaks of the Balkans (2022)
- Madeira from the east to the west (2022)
- Alta Via 1 (2023)
- Camino del Salvador, Camino Primitivo, Camino de Finesterre and Muxia (2023)

Teach, Learn, Share

I love geography but I am still lost - in space and in time.

I don't cook but I can share my kitchen and my sarcastic humour.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my place, stories, tips for hiking and also I can show you Czechia as a local and give you nice tips what you must see here before you die.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile.

My Groups