Martin Clarke's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 21 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Environmental
  • Ecology Bsc
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Travel, Learn, Live, Appreciate. Take away memories for life.

ABOUT ME

I consider myself to be an easygoing and friendly person. Life and time are both too short so trying to go where I can to broaden my knowledge of this world. Needless to say, but I love travelling and meeting people from all over the world.

PHILOSOPHY

We are here a short amount of time on the grand scale of things. So I try to live life to the most, try to enjoy every moment, as if it could be your last, because one day it might be. Run with life, seize all opportunity!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I joined to make friends when travelling and gain more knowledge about local customs and ways of living in countries I am not familiar with. I love meeting locals when I am travelling abroad and seeing life "through their eyes". I like meeting people and I am happy to show people around if I am free. I'm sorry but I cannot host during this time, but I will update if this changes.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted a friend from Montreal for 2 nights and 2 friends from Israel (and her best friend) for 3 nights. I have surfed once with a great host in Russia near Moscow, so I will maybe do it more. I have met several great people during my travels from all over Europe, and I do my best to stay in touch with them.

Interests

Travelling:

I love to explore a country and really know it, feel it, it's power and it's culture. I also love seeing new facets and aspects of life where I am. Travelling for me is really living.
My main Hobbies: Music, Photography, Art, Poetry, Nature, Wildlife, Architecture, Literature, Playing guitar, Walking/Exploring, World Cinema, Learning.

  • wildlife
  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • poetry
  • architecture
  • photography
  • running
  • walking
  • flying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

This is just a small selection - I can write pages about these!:)

Music:
Too many bands to list - Mostly rock or alternative based. I love music and have eclectic tastes but i prefer the more original or innovative kinds of music rather than the mainstream. Anything with passion or meaning, whether it be heavy, original, energetic or softer.

Movies:
I love World Cinema, Mystery, Sci-Fi, French New Wave some black humour and comedy and some horror. Some of my favourites are: I Served the King of England, Micmacs, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Don't Look Back (Ne te retourne pas), Amer, Amelie, Brotherhood of the Wolf, Mina Tannenbaum, Bande a Parte, Bicycle Thief, Hors de Prix, Delicatessen, Three Colours, The Double Life of Veronique, The Secret Life of Others and many many more.

TV Series: Twin Peaks is my fave show of all time! Others are Vikings, Game of Thrones, Les Revenants, Dekalog, The Master and the Margarita, Northern Exposure, Forbrydelsen, Bron/Broen, Engrenages, Dexter,

Books: The Master and Margarita, Anne Frank's Diary, Man's Search for Meaning, The Book of Laughter and Forgetting, Dracula, Sophie's World, Lord of the Rings, The Book of Disquiet, The Bell Jar, The Road Less Travelled, The Catcher in the Rye, Crime and Punishment, Don Quixote, Shakespeare, Edgar Allen Poe, Les Fleurs du Mal, Brighter than a Thousand Suns, just a few!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many things to list. Life in itself is amazing, you just have to enrich it to make it so, do things you like and that makes you happy. To do on my list: Fly down the Grand Canyon in helicopter, Ski somewhere in the alps, Hike the inca trail, see the northern lights, live for a while in Sydney (where i was born but only lived for 10 months).

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to play guitar and some photography techniques. I play a variety of guitar styles from acoustic, post-punk, rock, metal and jangly indie type of stuff. I would love to learn classical but do not have the time at the moment. I would also love to learn any new musical instrument, especially Cello, Drum or Lute. Languages - I can get by in Spanish but would love to improve. I am also interested in learning French,Italian,German,Russian and Swedish.
I'm learning Yoga and Archery at the moment (don't worry, not at the same time!).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I cannot host at this time, but I can meet you, show you my city, maybe take you to an interesting place by car. Weekends is better for me as I'm working full-time. I can of course help you with English too, as I'm a native speaker and have a clear English accent, and I will even slow down for you (though we all speak slowly in UK i think!).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Spain, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

My Groups