Matthias Müller

Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Medical doctor
  • University
  • From Ratingen, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Exploring the world


First thing about me: I'm really not great in writing "all about you" descriptions ;)

Alright, let's see, what else..
I'm an open-minded, very easy-going person who loves couchsurfing because it combines two of the greatest things in the world: couches and sleeping!
Just kidding: meeting new people from all over the world and vacation is what I actually meant.
I'm a medical doctor in Germany and am currently working as a pediatrician (kid's doctor). I absolutely love the job and working with kids. That being said, you already know I can put up with a lot of craziness and am prepared to entertain you all day long.

I guess I should say a bit more about my character as well:
--"This helps others understand who you are based on the content of what you write, and also how you write it. Are you a funny person?"--
Yes Sir, I definitely am :)
Serious, contemplative, wacky, adventurous, whimsical?
Adventurous..., well I climbed around the Grand Canyon without any safety devices and without having slept for 24h..althought, that's probably just silly, bad example. And surely I'm not serious ;)
Having difficulty deciding what to write?"
Yes, I actually had but I guess that's enough of an update to my profile for now.


You only live once

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted some couchsurfers together with my roommate in my apartment in Cambridge, MA. Way to few but I was a lot of fun whenever it worked out.


I surfed a bit in Europe and quite a lot in the US and in Mexico. Being part of the awesome Boston CS community I participated in a lot of events with other couchsurfers. When I traveled through the US with a friend for an entire month we surfed at 90% of the cities we stayed at and it made the trip an even greater experience.


I love to travel (of course :-)!)
Climbing!! Volleyball, Table-Tennis, JeetKoneDo, Capoeira, Lacrosse, Squash...
Learning foreign languages is a small hobby of mine, althought I'm not good in learning vocabulary. I am just trying to catch a bit up, due to the fact that I only had english and latin at school.
Music is of course a part of my life, though I am absolutely unmusical, I love to hear music and got to concerts (mostly Rock concerts or festivals like 'Rock am Ring')
I also like having a nice talk with nice people in a cozy atmosphere, drinking beer, cocktails or whatever and just having fun, before, after or instead going out and rocking the clubs.
Oh, and I think I'm descent cook who loves to try out new dishes, so I am always up for a little cooking session :-)

Music, Movies, and Books

Jimmy Eat World, Barenaked Ladies, Linkin Park, Killers, Kooks, Die Toten Hosen, Coldplay, Amateur Transplants, Kate Nash, Jan Delay, Wir sind Helden, Peter Fox, Sportfreunde Stiller, Red Hot Chili Peppers......

- Lord of the Ring, Angles&Demons, books by Ken Follett, Stieg Larson, Frank Schätzing, Dan Brown and many, many more

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sunrise over the Grand Canyon

Traveled 23,684 miles in 23 days all around the US

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a doctor, so I guess if anybody is interested in any medical topic I can participate in discussion or tell a bit about it :-)
I am quite good in volleyball, but I've never been a trainer. I've successfully told beginners how to belay in climbing so if you wanna learn to climb I guess I can help :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups