Mathias Vanoverschelde's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathias’s full profile.

Overview

  • 81 references 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • I love travelling, exploring the world and meet new inter...
  • I studied Latin Science at secundairy school and Zytholog...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The past couple of years I spend my holidays hitch-hiking through several parts of Europe.
My dream is to go on a long hitch-hiking journey through Asia and South America to enrich my mind and to get as much as possible insight in different cultures, parts of the world and the beauty of it all.
I keep my fingers crossed to start realise this dream in 2021 - 2022.

ABOUT ME

Hi there!

I'm Mathias, produced in 1992 and my roots are originated in Belgium spoil.
I'm an open minded, positive thinking, ecological guy who tries to live the life I want to live, not what people or society expects me to do or behave.
I choose to live an exciting life filled with experiences and adventure.
Exploring new places, being open for new experiences or other prospects of life and meeting interesting people is what makes me feel alive and fills my heart with love and happiness.
My biggest interest is to see as much as possible different aspects of this wonderful world we are living in, the beauty of it, to learn and understand about different cultures, the population and the fairness of it all.
Beside nature I really enjoy music, art, sports and brewing beer.
Who knows we might ever share a glass of my home brewed craft beer together.

My favourite moto in life is: Live and let live!

Cheers!

PHILOSOPHY

I try to treat people the way I would want to be treated myself.
There's too much pain, suffering and hate in the world, while happiness lies everywhere around us. Why can't we all just get along and respect one another?

Live and let live!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My idea is to travel hitch-hiking and see where I end up and whoever I meet. Everybody has their own story and I'm very interested in learning yours.

Interests

I want to see as much as possible of the beauty of the world and what mother nature has to offer. And by doing that, meet as much as possible loving and amazing people, discover wonderful places and incredible parts of nature.

  • swing dancing
  • beer
  • homebrewing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • snowboarding
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains
  • nature
  • karate
  • love
  • latin dance
  • disney
  • jive
  • garbage free shopping

Music, Movies, and Books

The Lion King, Into the Wild, Sweeney Todd, Singin' in the Rain, Humboldt County, Snatch, ps I love you, Fight Club, the Cable Guy, V for Vendetta, the Silence of the Lambs,...

Fawlty Towers, het Eiland, Married with Children, Pokémon, the Simpsons, South Park, Rick and Morty, himym, Workaholics, Orange is the new black,...

I like almost every type of music; Classical, metal, reggae, jazz, blues, swing, salsa, reggaeton,...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing journey I went on was travelling through Mozambique for 3 weeks with my father. We rented a car and drove through the country.
It was an unbelievable experience wich I'll never forget, especially because it was with my awesome dad!
Beside that, I hitch-hiked through 20 or 30 countries so far, but the future lies ahead.

Teach, Learn, Share

"The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.
People need to experience new things in order to be truly happy."
-Into the Wild-

What I Can Share with Hosts

A bed/ couch or hammock, a shower, some stories or even a smile, home brew Belgian craft beer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathias’s full profile.