Matthew Robertson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Artist
  • MFA
  • From San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! My name is Matthew and I'm an artist currently pursuing my MFA at the University of Maryland right outside of Washington D.C.. I'm an easy going and down to earth person who loves meeting new people and hearing their stories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

This summer I'll be taking part in a residency program in Pilsen, Czech for the month of June and will be traveling around Europe throughout July. I'm really looking forward to this trip and would prefer to meet and stay with locals during my travels rather than staying by myself in hotels so that I might get a better sense of the places that I'll be visiting by meeting and spending time with people in the area.

Interests

  • #music
  • #hiking
  • #dancing
  • #nature
  • #art
  • #painting
  • #swimming
  • #film
  • #cycling

Music, Movies, and Books

Too many to list! Film: Herzog, Kubrick, Coen Brothers, Aronovsky... Music: Coltrane, Mos Def, Sufjan Stevens, Burial.. Books: Carver, Brautigan, Cormac McCarthy, Shirley Jackson...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think that some of the most amazing experiences that I've had involve coming across wild animals in their natural environments. When I was 14 I was hiking around some tidal pools near Monterey, California and I discovered an octopus hanging out in a shallow pool of water. I knelt down to have a closer look and we made eye contact. After a moment or two the octopus rapidly shifted between many colors of the spectrum before swimming away. It was a beautiful experience. To this day it was one of my life's most memorable moments.

Teach, Learn, Share

Yes, yes and yes.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm an artist by profession and will be painting my way around Europe. I love portraiture and would be happy to paint a portrait of you or a friend to express my gratitude for your hospitality : )

You can find my work here:

Website: matthewrobertsonart.com

Instagram: matthewrobertsonart

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Myanmar, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.