Matt Hutchinson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile.

Overview

  • 21 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Team Leader
  • Some College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

More of an introvert than an extravert, tend to get along with everyone, I don't think I've come across anyone with a big problem with me, except maybe my sister some days? Nowadays I spend a lot of time thinking and listening. I used to work 3 jobs and volunteer in a suicide/crisis call centre and have a lot more friends than I have now, but experienced 2 strokes at 25 years old, so I've cut back on the number of people I let into my life, but my life is still pretty full on, but in a good way. My rule for over a decade now is I travel every 6 weeks, I'm usually overseas about 3 times a year, but there are a bunch of countries I've been back to 7+ times. Ballarat (Country Victoria, Australia), Bali, San Francisco and Japan are places I really should call home.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined the website in 2013 because I was sceptical people would just let random strangers stay at their homes. Since then, I've travelled a lot at times by myself and seen many great acts of kindness of strangers. Ultimately, I believe in karma.
I grew up in my family home that has hosted a lot of guests over the years, mostly from Japan which helped motivate me to studying Japanese until the end of high school. I did quite well at it but stopped learning it.

So to answer the actual question, I'm on here to be a part of someone else's life. I know when I travel, its a really special part of my life, so I hope to enhance that in other peoples.

Interests

Since a diving accident in Bali a few years back, I conquered a fear by going to Fiji and getting my PADI open water dive certificate, and hope to use it more. I also enjoy non-traditional sports and activities like skydiving, rock climbing, kayaking...
I used to be in the Scouts and still enjoy camping, hiking and exploring the country, I could spend all day looking at a lake or mountain, if that bores you, bring a book?

  • books
  • drones
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • volunteering
  • ice skating
  • japan
  • natural medicine
  • guinea pigs
  • alpacas

Music, Movies, and Books

The Fault in our Stars, Eat Pray Love, Wonder, Harry Potter, John Marsden novels like Tomorrow When the War Began and Goosebumps have been highlights of my reading life. Mostly though I read a lot of non-fiction.
Films entertain me a lot more however I forget most of what happened in them after a while, maybe because I see so many.
Music I stick with dance/techno, but every now and then I find something in all the other categories that I add to my collection. I'm not loyal to a particular artist, so I'm a bit random.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Egypt, Fiji, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile.

My Groups