Max Gerwin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Max’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Childcare worker, Student of Social Work
  • Student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

The first 21 years of my life I was envy.
Envy to People who see the world and I want it for myself
but I wasn´t ready for it or maybe not brave enough.
At this time I dont know that most of them only see the beach
or something like that. They dont even know the People, their traditions, their Lifestyle, their culture or the Situation they live.
I want to be different. I want to know the People, their stories their life and how they manage it. I want to learn from them get on Adventures and do my own experiences and then I met this one friend who brought me to couchsurfing.

And here I am!
I'm an open minded 25 year old guy who loves to make new experiences. My humor and optimism makes my life a lot easier. And I enjoy every laugh!

"Happiness only real when shared" - McCandless

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet new people all over the world, make new friends, learn something about different cultures in different countries and exchange stories and thougths!

Interests

With trust in humans you are able to make a lot of great experiences and feel more conected to human mankind. Thats what Im trying to do while I like to explore the world, their culture, traditions and the way to happines for all the different and awsome people out there! "without trust society wouldnt exist anymore" - so let's gain the trust and meet up!

Im planing a world journey with Feemke and trying to volunteer as much as I can on my way. If you guys have any advice I am happy to hear it!

  • board games
  • team sports
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • volleyball
  • laughing
  • adventures
  • longboarding
  • exploring
  • climbing
  • humanity
  • enjoying life
  • eco friendly
  • refugees welcome

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy listen to live music, acoustic and vocals but also to reggae, old school hip hop and a lot of guitar music. By the way I started to play guitar a couple of weeks ago and hopefully I can attend some songs soon.

I like the most movies from Quentin Tarantino and the Ghibli Studios as well as animes and mangas in general.
Gran Torino, Django, The Hatefull eight, Pulp fiction, Princess Mononoke, Sword of a Stranger, Game of Thrones, Into the wild, Weit - Die Geschichte von einem Weg um die Welt, Easy Rider and No Country for Old men are one of my favourites.

I love the Hunger games trilogy! And I really enjoyed to read "Siddhartha" from Herman Hesse, "The Alchemist" from Paulo Coehlo, "American Gods" from Neil Gaiman, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, "The old men and the Sea" from Ernest Hemingway.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was part of an Youth Exhange with the topic "social projects" in Portugal. There was much different nationallitys from Armenia, Portugal, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia and Germany. No one knows the others at the beginning of the 10 Days together. It was an amazing experience to meet all these participants who no one speaks his mother tounge. (2014)

Hitchhiking and sleeping at a completly strangers house in Ireland (2015)

Riding a horse on Cuba (2016)

Diving with whale sharks in Mexico (2016)

Swimming in the Dead Sea (2017)

Staying in a Student dorm and celebrate Shabbat in Haifa (2017)

Using mini buses in Egypt and enjoy Egyptian hospitallity (2017)

A Roadtrip in Croatia with really goodfriends (2017)

Hitchhiking and staying a night in Padova at our drivers place (2017)

Enyoing the best Pizza in the world in Napoli and hiking the camino degli dei using the Cs Event option (2017)

Start surfing in San Vi (2018)

Doing an Erasmus in Sevilla (2018/19)

Taking a swim at night in front of the A-bomb dome in Hiroshima with Cs people I met few hours before (2019)

Dreaming of an Atlantic crossing, experiencing and learning from the Desert, exploring the arctic, witness the northern lights, supporting Sea Shepherd on the Sea and at least, finding my way to nature.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you a couple of card games I learned on my travels, and taste of German language or how to imitate an owl with your bare hands! I will offer you an open ear to get rid of bad things you dont need to worry about and a helping hand at any time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, France, Gibraltar, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Max’s full profile.

My Groups