Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 63 References 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Polish, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Swedish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Front Office
  • High school (Finland) + BA in Tourism (Spain) + travels :)
  • From Espoo, Finland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy the summer in Finland while saving up for travelling to Asia and Australia :)

ABOUT ME

I feel like a multinational person as I'm half Finnish and half Polish, I've lived in Spain for almost 5 years and apart from that I'm travelling frequently ^^ So I'd say restless and spontaneous are two words that describe me quite well.. I'm also an open-minded, adventurous and caring person.

I finished my BA degree in Tourism at the end of 2014 after which I had sort of a gap year (again :p). I volunteered with my boyfriend at a family-run riding centre in central Portugal after which we went for a 2-month backpacking trip around South America - one of the best experiences in my life :) Now I've just moved to Bournemouth for work.

I'm interested in quite many things but I'm especially passionate about horses, music (playing the piano and guitar) and dancing (salsa and bachata above all). I've also started to practise yoga and I love it! Besides I love to travel and meet people from different cultures :)

PHILOSOPHY

Live every day as if it was your last (unfortunately this usually turns out to be more difficult than expected..)

A hug is worth a thousand words. A friend is worth more.

Live and let live.

"Sing like no one is listening, love like you've never been hurt, dance like nobody's watching and live like it's heaven on earth" - Mark Twain

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Lately I've been mostly meeting up with people while travelling/living in different cities. I used to have a flat in Malaga with my bf for 1,5 year and during that time I hosted couch surfers almost every week. Before that I used to surf a lot and I hope that I could do that again soon :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been hosted many times in different countries - alone and with a friend and I've hosted many people in Malaga when I was renting out a flat with my bf. I've had many great experiences with cs and I think that it's definitely the best way to experience the local culture and to meet interesting people :)

Interests

Horses - Especially natural horsemanship and trail riding.
Playing the piano & the guitar.
Dancing - Salsa & bachata (+kizomba, hiphop etc.)
Yoga - I've been practising Ashtanga Yoga regularly since January.
Travelling - will never get tired of it ;)
Vegetarian food - I became Vegetarian last year.
Books and movies (especially fantasy, comedy, mystery)
Photography

  • pets
  • horses
  • culture
  • books
  • singing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • bachata
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • running
  • meditation
  • boating
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • backpacking
  • languages
  • tourism
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Lord of the Rings, Pirates of the Caribbean, Dirty Dancing 1-2, Step Up, Honey, Hidalgo, A Walk to Remember, The Notebook, The Holiday, Mamma Mia, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Shrek, Slumdog Millionaire ...

Music: R&B, latin (especially salsa and bachata), hip hop, pop&rock ballads, soul, reggae, house, oriental meditation/relax music .. I like many kinds of music but the only ones I can't stand are metal and techno.

Books: Elizabeth Gilbert's "Eat, Pray, Love" is the book that has inspired me most. I also love to read Paulo Coelho, Torey Hayden, Nicholas Sparks, J.R.R. Tolkien, Patrick Rothfuss, Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Glass, Cecelia Ahern, Stephenie Meyer and yeah still Harry Potters, love them :D My newest discover is "The Secret" by Rhonda Byrnes.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Backpacking around South America for 2 months (Peru, Bolivia and Chile), visited breathtaking places such as Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca, Colca Canyon, Salar de Uyuni, Moon Valley etc.
- Galloping up the hill and riding bareback on a wonderful white horse in Malaga
- Doing a road trip around the West Coast of the US with my cousin and friends - Las Vegas, The Grand Canyon, L.A., Yosemite, San Francisco
- Boat-ride under the Niagara Falls and seeing a rainbow
- Horse-back riding on the beach in Bulgaria with my sister

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you some of the languages I know, horse-back riding, some basics of piano playing and dancing salsa and bachata. I'm also an expert on how to travel without spending too much money ^_^

I would love to learn more about natural horsemanship and to play the guitar better. I also want to improve in yoga and learn how to meditate - I find it really hard though cause I have such a restless mind ;/

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually cook something for my hosts :)
I can also teach you any of the things mentioned above or help you with pets if you happen to have any.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Bulgaria, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Morocco, Peru, Portugal, Slovakia, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups