Melike Ercan

Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey

Not Accepting Guests

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melike’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Computer Engineering, Translation, Travelling
  • METU Computer Engineering, Wroclaw University of Technolo...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


If you want to be happy, be! -- Lev Nikolaevich Tolstoy


Well, I am software engineer. I moved to Melbourne recently.

I am interested in different countries, different cultures and all of the people on Earth!
I love involving in multicultural-intercultural projects and activities.
I promised to myself that I would walk on streets of different cities whenever I find enough time. And I am a woman of my word!
While I am traveling to new places, I use my camera a lot and I like trying traditional cuisine and drinks and learning at least few sayings in the country's language.
I also like making friends from all over the world.


"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you did not do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." Mark Twain

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Living in a touristic place in Turkey, I had the chance to meet travelers and some of them were CouchSurfers.


As Host: Turkey, Poland, Austria, Australia
As Guest: Germany, Russia, Austria, Czech Republic, Norway, Sweden, The Netherlands, Denmark, Poland, Ukraine, Serbia


I realized that it becomes harder to find a really interesting person for me. No offense. I know we are each unique and special but we are really so alike...

I would like to meet the ones who are nice and comforting towards people, saying nice things to others, trying to see anything good about anyone. I know there exist people flirting with any earthling and making them happy. It is just hard to find them :D

Different countries, different cultures and all of the people on Earth!
Traditional cuisine and drinks of different cities.
Taking photos.
Cooking. ;)
Exploring different personalities and making friends!

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Gogol Bordello, Amorf Ordogok, Besh O Drom, Bjork, Leonard Cohen, Radiohead, Thom Yorke, Tori Amos, Taraf de Haidouks, The Knife, Madonna ...

Books: I am a Kindle lover, first of all ;)
Bulgakov, Michael Foucault, Orhan Pamuk, Amos Tutuola, Shonagon, Knut Hamsun, G.David Roberts, Bukowski, M.W. Gombrowicz, Roald Dahl, Maxim Gorky, N.V. Gogol, Aziz Nesin, Kafka...

Movies: Tim Burton

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Each day I travel has the potential of being amazing. As Eugene Hutz says:

And as we're crossing border after border
We realize that difference is none
It's underdogs who, and if you want it
You always have to make your own fun

Teach, Learn, Share

I like language tandem. I can serve with English and Turkish and I am interested in learning Russian and German.

In Vienna, I took part in many cooking events and both cooked and learned how to cook traditional dishes from other countries. Well, it might be a good chance to try how much I learned and got experience. In short: I can cook for you. - vegetarian only ;)

I can also help you with programming and computer science.. haha :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

Please write "MELOSHKA'S QUEENDOM" to the requests so I can understand you have read my profile. :)

I am offering to host you in my flat on St. Kilda Road. It is 3.5 km to the Flinders Train Station in CBD. You will have a seperate room with double bed.

You will be staying in my living room. (up to 3 nights) The couch is large enough for 2 people. I have extra blanket, pillow, linens etc.

There are few key information that I would like to remind you:

-- Requests sent only one or two days before will be rejected. Please do not even bother to send. I find it rude because if I do not response immediately, my response rate i the app decreases.
-- Melbourne is expensive. It really is. But please do not make me think that you are couchsurfing just to save from accommodation costs during your travel. I would like to be friends.
-- I work 9-5 in the city. I need my sleep. So please be respectful.
-- Nobody likes cleaning after the guests leave or during their stay.
-- I like cooking. But you are also expected to give us a hand. Sharing the work makes it easier :)
-- I would like to take you out, discover some places with you, go to CS or Meet-up events with you and show you around. Please let me know what do you expect from me. What kind of events you like, dietary requirements, what are you interested in (history or arts or something else)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, Poland, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Melike’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups