Merlijn van Télàmie's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Merlijn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 27 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic, English, French, German, Hebrew (modern); learning Dutch, Hungarian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Medical Student
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Never too lazy for a fun activity

I grew up in Jerusalem, a spectacular multi-cultural historical city, which is also incredibly hot! Currently I am pursuing a medical career in Germany. Throughout my life, I've had a passion for foreign cultures and languages. I enjoy studying and speaking them (if I could manage to!). I am also a big fan of sports: Jogging, biking, swimming and hiking in particular, but I believe I would also enjoy any activity that doesn't include a ball. I am very flexible and I simply go with the flow. I adore french and Italian cuisine, and cooking is an essential daily activity that I sincerely enjoy. I like reading, but never on a nice summer day, and I appreciate all sorts of art, a field in which I am not very talented, despite my enthusiasm and admiration for it.


I believe in the power of "CHANGE". Whether changing oneself, changing the world, the earth or anything, CHANGE is a mighty tool that can be used for the better good- "A journey of a 1000 miles starts with a single step".

I come from a relatively developing country, and I am a big support of Education and I have a big faith in the next generation.

Where I live, we are not too involved in recycling and using renewable resources, but personally I try my best to be eco-friendly. I love places where nature exists in harmony with people; calm soothing places like the Alps, villages and places near lakes and valleys. I also enjoy cities with lots of culture and magnificent attractions. On the other hand, I try to avoid destinations where skyscrapers and modern technology soar "vividly".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been a surfer a couple of times and I hosted a few people. I believe couchsurfing is a great way to meet foreign people and make international friends! Through it, I learnt a lot about foreign countries and cultures, and I met people that left a deep impression on me! After a while you start looking at maps and say: "I have a friend there!"

Sometimes, I've been to a city and ended up happier spending time with the hosts than exploring the place.
I am literally looking forward to meeting again every host and surfer I've met!


Jogging, hiking, biking, painting, cooking, swimming
movies, concerts

  • arts
  • culture
  • concerts
  • education
  • cooking
  • technology
  • movies
  • reading
  • painting
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • swimming
  • cartography
  • teaching
  • languages
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Arabic music (old and new), Edith Piaf, Jacques Brel, Zaz, London Grammar, Angus Stones, Parov Stelar, Rihanna, latin-american music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I consider achievements a starting step for something bigger
Maybe completing a marathon in Switzerland in 2014

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Jordan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Luxembourg, Palestine

Join Couchsurfing to see Merlijn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups