Le foto di M I

Profilo non verificato

  • Metodo di pagamento non verificato
  • Numero di telefono non verificato
  • Documento di identità non verificato
  • Indirizzo non verificato.

Vuole socializzare

  • Ultimo accesso 3 days fa

Iscriviti a Couchsurfing per visualizzare il profilo completo di M. È gratis!

Informazioni generali

  • 18 Referenzas 12 Confermato e positivo
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Membro dal 2014
  • Programmer
  • Computer Science
  • Città di origine non indicata
  • Profilo completo al 100%

Chi sono

Currently traveling the world after quitting my job in January 2015.

I'm really easygoing and don't let much get to me at all. I like to think that I'm adaptable to lots of different situations. I tend towards sarcasm as my main sense of humor. I like to live by the immortal words from Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure: "Be excellent to each other"

It sometimes feels like I'm letting my trip plan itself. Every once in a while I have to make a decision and give it some direction, especially when planning to meet with friends, but I've completely changed my plans several times based on something that happened the same day. I know it sounds like an oxymoron, but it's like a planned spontaneity. I don't travel with a guidebook and oftentimes don't really know what to do in a city when I arrive. Usually I ask people for recommendations or quickly look on wikitravel. That being said, I'm usually pretty bad and usually send couch requests no more than a week in advance, unless I know where I'll be exactly.

Feb '15 - Mar '15: Europe
April '15 - September '15: Asia
Oct '15 - Home for a couple weeks and Canada for a weekend
Oct' 15 - Jan '16: Europe
Jan '16 - April '16: Morocco
April '16 - June '16: Europe
June '16 - ... Home in LA with adventures in between

Perché sono iscritto su Couchsurfing

Looking to meet people that know the area, but even just making friends with someone new to the area and exploring it together is great. I like to hear the local perspective on issues as well as history and languages of places, but also would like to know about bars, street food, graffiti and restaurants. Also wouldn't mind having someone to go out to get a cup of coffee or beer with. New friends and drinking buddies are great. I can do both intelligent conversations and nights out.
In my travels I've been splitting time between friends / family, hostels, couchsurfing and volunteering.

Interessi

The obvious one being travel but I'm interested in local and non-touristy options within cities where I am staying. On and off the beaten path is fine. Local alcohol, foods and music scene. I enjoy photography, hiking, biking, surfing, snowboarding, eating, drinking, collecting vinyl records, reading, art, going to local markets... I'd rather go to the local (super)markets and have someone to ask about all the different products on the shelves and showing me the best food and candy rather than take a selfie in front of whatever everyone takes a selfie in front of in the area. Granted, I'd probably also like to see whatever people are taking their own picture in front of, but it doesn't interest me to see something, take my picture in front of it, and then leave 15 minutes later.
Since I started traveling, I've taken pictures of graffiti around the world. I still haven't gone through and organized it, so good luck me finding some down time to sort that all out. Abandoned buildings and ruins fascinate me, like the same way antique and vintage things interest me, but I'm not at all an urban explorer and haven't explored very many.
I don't have a bucket list. I believe that for lots of places there's something worth seeing, even if it's to learn that I never need to go back. Of course if it's out of the way or expensive to get to, then I probably wouldn't have gone in the first place.
If you know of any good places to get tattoos, I don't have many but would like to get more, for the right artist or price, of course.

Musica, film e libri

I'm a punk at heart (DIY / socially & politically conscious / not following the mainstream), but listen to a wide variety from hardcore to indie to EDM and lots in between: The Menzingers, Frank Turner, The Lawrence Arms, Neutral Milk Hotel, Brand New, Red City Radio and more..

Favorite type of movies are horror, and tend to not to be much into blockbusters, but watch all kinds of course. Drive, Shaun of the Dead, Sunshine, Amelie, [rec], Old Boy, Dawn of the Dead, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Into the Wild, Snatch...

Authors: Murakami, Bukowski, Fante...

Books: Norwegian Wood, Post Office, Ask The Dust, The Great Gatsby, East of Eden, Ender's Game (& Saga), On the Road... I read The Alchemist while in Morocco and it was inspiring to say the least

TV: Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, American Horror Story. I don't really watch that much TV

Una cosa incredibile che ho fatto

Hiked up a volcano in Bali to see the sun rise over the clouds. Learned to free dive down to 15 m underwater on a single breath. Spent Halloween in an abandoned graffiti-covered hospital in Corsica. Swam with whale sharks in the Philippines. Traveled together with a group of 15 people on motorbikes around Bali. Sky Diving in Hawaii. Explored caves in the Philippines with flip-flops on a recently-sprained ankle. Saw the sunrise and sunset on top of ancient temples in Myanmar. Walked across a country. Sneaked into an abandoned amusement park with people I met just that morning. Planned a road trip to Portland, OR and randomly wound up 2000 miles away in Chicago.

Insegna, impara, condividi

I have plenty of travel stories and recommendations on where to stay and travel cheaply.

Cosa posso offrire ai padroni di casa

I know my way around and can help in the kitchen, but in terms of having specific recipes in my arsenal or having any specialties, I'm afraid to say that I don't have any.

I also could be able to help with web / computer related stuff

Paesi che ho visitato

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Vatican City State

Paesi in cui ho vissuto

United States

Iscriviti a Couchsurfing per visualizzare il profilo completo di M. È gratis!