Logo orange

Matthew Overlin

Somerville, MA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

92% response rate · Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 42 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Hardware Developer
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to find couches to sleep on!

ABOUT ME

Although I'm really mellow and laid back, I am also adventurous. I tend to warm up to most people very easily as long as they are open-minded, accepting, and also adventurous, etc. I'm a big fan of music, but I am always open to exploring new aspects of a city that I'm visiting for the first time. Aside from my interest in traveling, I'm an engineering student, so I really like math, physics, electrical engineering, and all that jazz. I don't know how many of you are science/engineering types, but I like meeting all kinds of people: artistic people as well as other engineers/engineering students!

PHILOSOPHY

For the most part, I kind of believe in Karma. I guess I believe that if you are really welcoming/friendly to other people, then you will generally find that they reciprocate in similar ways. I try to be optimistic when I can be.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In the past, I've used the site to get hosted rather than being the host. Now that I am done with college, I'm hosting travelers through the site. I've hosted several travelers since Dec. 2013.
I also go to the couchsurfing meet-ups in Cambridge, MA every once in awhile.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couchsurfed around the United States without using this site. In Spring 2013, I lived at a student house where some others hosted couchsurfers. Since then, I was not very active until I started hosting in Dec. 2013.

Interests

I really like music. Some of my favorite kinds of music are classic rock (60's-80's), folk rock, 80's metal, minimal techno, deep house. Wherever I visit, I would probably be interested in checking out the music scene, but I would definitely not want to miss out on other awesome aspects of the places I visit. I have also developed a hobby of long-distance running. I try to run a few times during the week and once each weekend. I'd say I'm generally open to exploring anything that's interesting- whether it's a cool music venue, a tourist attraction, or something else.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Phonique and CCR are some of my favorites (I like mostly anything that isn't country and some rap including: Jazz, Rock, R&B, Disco, Funk)

Books: Mostly non-fiction. Especially some of the books by George Vaillant.

Movies: Pulp Fiction and other Tarantino movies

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I guess I've seen some natural landmarks which were pretty awesome. For example, I've been to Yellowstone, Mt. Rushmore, the Grand Canyon, Yosemite, & Death Valley just to name a few places. I've done a fair amount of traveling in the United States.

Outside the U.S. I found De Wallen to be very interesting, as well as some parts of Berlin, I guess. But maybe not anything "amazing," I would say.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like anyone open-minded, I suppose. I usually have fun with people who don't get stubborn easily and who are open-minded enough to try something even if they suspect they might not like it.

What I Can Share With Hosts

A place to stay. Also, I will drink with you. Also, I can show you around Boston a little bit as long as I'm free.

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Germany, Netherlands, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile