Ben's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

Overview

  • 53 references 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Lao, Thai
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Scientist
  • University
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn French, and enjoy France!
Let go of the daily worries and connect to myself and others.
Re-connect with couchsurfing and travelling :)

ABOUT ME

I moved to Strasbourg in 2019, and am currently learning French (language and culture) and starting to settle in (post-confinement).
I'm a scientist by training, and very analytical to the point that I overthink so I'm starting to relearn how to listen to my heart.

PHILOSOPHY

Travel is fatal to prejudice and closed-mindedness.

There's so much to learn from so many people! Life is for living, and we should take time to appreciate the things around us, and to get to see the best bits inside all of us!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, surfing, socialising and advising.
I've had some great hosts, and now that I have the space, I'm trying to return the generosity and pass it on to others when I get the chance.
I'm now more active on other platforms but I'm yet to see a real community built up like on couchsurfing before it become flooded with dead profiles.
https://www.bewelcome.org/members/mrbenn
NOTE: I try to respond to all requests promptly but this isn't always possible.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed in several countries and had great hosts!
I was part of a great CS community in Bournemouth and now I've moved to France I'm enjoying the same international community here

Interests

Meeting people!
Seeing things!
Being Outside, Climbing, walking, surfing, talking, listening, reading, laughing, joking, eating, drinking...and many things I haven't tried or even thought of trying!

  • vegan
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • hiking
  • nature
  • climbing
  • community
  • bonsai

Music, Movies, and Books

Kick Ass, Garden state, Amelie, Superbad, Juno...and lots more,
My key enjoyment is comedy and laughter :)

Too much to narrow down, I generally feel all music has it's time and place...but I enjoy ska&jazz (The Cat Empire, La Bottine Sauriante), rock (eg. Kings of Leon), classic (The Doors, Led Zeppelin)...something with a beat!

I struggle to sit down and read, but when I have there's some good books that stick in the mind. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, War and Peace, and An Utterly Impartial History of Britain and more recently the power of now

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent one month living, learning, helping and teaching in Laos.
Learnt more of a second language than I thought I ever could and found an unknown ability at helping with English.
Oh, and the sunrise as I walked into the Golden Temple, Amritsar.

Teach, Learn, Share

English, pidgin Laos and pidgin Thai...happy to try and teach a few words (although no extended warranty)
Studied and worked in science so can potentially help with questions on this.
I can teach you how to climb :)
Share travel knowledge and tales as well as local tips.
Climber, surfer, driver, adventure cyclist, hiker, camper, cook...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Knowledge (which we all know is power), and laughter (which we all know is the best medicine!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

My Groups