Julia 'Muffin' Hughes's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 74% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia 'Muffin'’s full profile.

Overview

  • 61 references 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Persian (Farsi), Spanish, Thai
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Population Health Program Manager
  • MPH, MSW, TESOL
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Greetings and salutations, fellow wandering comrades! I am Julia, you can call me Muffin. I moved in St. Louis in August 2017 settling down after work around Southeast Asia and some other continents for some time. I graduated in 2019 with my masters degrees in public health and social work and stayed here in STL to experience corporate population health program managing at a managed care org. St. Louis is nice, it’s a little gem and I think will get super popular in a decade. I have a background in social work and teaching many things: English, technology use and swimming. I've worked at psychiatric hospitals and community centers, foundations and at Apple. I'm very interested in racial equity, gender equality and self-care..

As a surfer I seek to be helpful, tidy and positive. Happy to take care of pets, children, chores or cook a meal.

If you're staying with me, my yogi mother if often here or traveling, Christa, and we have a schnauzer named Monty and five chickens. Now, If you a request please tell me your pronouns or favorite flower. It’s one of the ways we know that y’all actually read hosts’ profiles 🃏

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Connection and sharing of space. I feel that I'm Living ‘my truth’ the most when I have moments of mutual understandings with other humans, if that makes sense.
So couchsurfing helps me do it.
Amazing people hosted me on the road and I enjoying repaying that kindness every time.

Interests

Creating, Trivia, exploring, nature and cooking meals for others. And of course discos.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • painting
  • karaoke
  • hiking
  • camping
  • geography
  • geopolitics
  • social work
  • sociology
  • ukulele
  • learning languages
  • biking
  • disco
  • techno
  • public health
  • feminism
  • counseling
  • haiku
  • data science
  • botany
  • political economy
  • gerontology
  • data visualization
  • ideology
  • racial equity

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all music and dancing, but my some* top artist/bands are the Slits, Crass, Pixies, Aphex Twin and Deee-Lite. Big fan of mindfulness and writings related to Buddhism, namely Thich Nhat Hahn. I also read a lot of political economic tragedies novel or nonfiction (climate change, disease, apocalyptic events). I enjoy Persian poets like Rumi, Khayyam. I don't watch many movies but I like the 5th element and I love the movie Koyaanisqatsi (and P. Glass scores). If I do watch live television, it's only watch the best program known to me... Jeopardy! TM

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Wild camped in the Omani Wahiba Sand Dunes

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach learn share...
I teach heaps. Policy, geopolitics, the New Deal, guided meditation, critical thought, swimming, farsi, cooking, technology use, academia, healthcare, patience.
I want to learn everything good and be mindful and appreciative of the present in the present!
And
We can share life lessons and all be teachers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laundry, fridge, company, home meals

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Myanmar, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia 'Muffin'’s full profile.

My Groups