Ben Partee's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 179 References 91 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I left my job in May 2010 to travel around the globe... n...
  • the most practical knowledge I have, never came from any ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


finding my place in the world...


Born and raised in Dayton/Cincinnati Ohio until summer of 2006 when I decided that as much as I love my home, it was time for a change. I moved to California in late summer that year, and now looking back, I can't imagine never having done so. My life has changed in so many ways, and I feel more at home here now than I do when I go back to visit Ohio.
I generally try to stay active in some way, whether its working out, clubbing, going to the beach, hanging with friends, or whatever, its something that gets me outside and around other people. I tend to have a sarcastic sense of humor, and I can't help but to make others laugh, just don't take me too serious ;) If there's anything else you need to know, just ask. I'm very open and not easily offended, so no worries.
As of late 2010, I have left my job to travel around the world, starting in Western Europe, making my way south east, eventually to Turkey, then around the bend into Africa... That's the plan anyway, but anything could happen.


hmmm... well, one philosophy I've always liked is that 'you should always strive for something greater than yourself' Thats basically to say that we all want to have fun, spend money, etc., but what is it in this world that you would be willing to give your life for? Whatever it is, work for it, dedicate yourself to it, and never give up.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My brother originally introduced me to this site after having a great experience using it to meet hosts in Europe. Personally I think its the greatest thing since sliced bread. I can't even count anymore the number of amazing people I've met in the short amount of time that I've been a part of this group. Unfortunately it will be a while until I am able to travel/surf myself, however I'm able to offer my couch and floor to any visitors, some of whom have already taken me up on the offer. I'm getting to know many of the local CSers in the LA, OC, and San Diego groups, so if theres anything going on groupwise, I'm usually aware of it, and theres a chance I may be there. Always willing to meet up, show you around, hang out, talk, you name it, I'm down so long as I have an open schedule.
Oh, and if you'ed like to try skydiving, I'm well acquanted with an organization here where I got my A license, and I'd be more than happy to take you!


It will be a while before I can surf couches, but until then, I'm enjoying hosting and showing others around. I particularly like getting together with some of the other local CSers and their guests like at the San Diego bonfire, or other events, just to chill and meet new faces. It really is a blast... I love it!


Clubbing, dancing, seeing new places and having new experiences, beaches, outdoor activities (biking, hiking, national parks), skydiving, movies, and making lasting connections with others.
As I said before, the activity doesn't matter as much as the people I'm hanging out with. I tend to have a sarcastic sense of humor, and I love making people laugh, so just give me a good crowd and I can have fun.

  • dancing
  • working out
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • skydiving
  • beaches
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Comedy is my own personal favourite, I believe life is too short not to have a good laugh everyday and enjoy yourself. After that, anything that stimulates me to think... I love books/movies that portray human nature and emotion because I'm always thinking about this myself. The best movie I've seen this last year is Atonement, simply and perfectly beautiful...
As for music, I love anything I can dance to, I know club and hip hop music can get redundant sometimes, however I still enjoy it and listen to it everyday. I also like slower stuff too though like classical music and reagae. Some of my favourite artists are U2, Bob Marley, Pink Floyd, REM, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Cold Play, Eric Clapton, Billy Joel, James Blunt, Nickelback, The Fray, the Beatles, Linkin Park, Madonna, Timberlake, Santana, Evanescense, Nelly Furtado, and several others I'm sure I'm forgetting.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'd have to say Skydiving is definitely in my top 5. I started back in summer of 2007, and I now have my A-license and 35 jumps so far.
Traveling abroad, I have been to Germany, France, Austria, Bulgaria, and Russia, every abroad experience I have had is in the top 10 experiences of my life, they were all indescribable, and I met some incredible and amazing people along the way.
Love, I've had several relationships in my life, but I've only been in love once. It was the most amazing feeling I ever had, but also the saddest when it ended

Teach, Learn, Share

Wanting to learn anything, able to share everything, and willing to teach whatever it is you want to know

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, Russian Federation, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    26 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups