Alexandre Buisse's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexandre’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Danish, German, Swedish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Freelance mountain photographer
  • Variable
  • From Lyon, France
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Climb mountains!

ABOUT ME

I am a photographer, a student, a traveler, a reader and an activist.
I am half French, half Swedish, half Danish, half Spanish and half everything else.
I'm a climber, a windsurfer, a snowboarder, a hiker and a sloth.
I love good music, good food, good wine, good company, good beer and good photography.

PHILOSOPHY

I try hard not to miss any opportunities, and constantly have to fight my own laziness. I kick my own butt out of its comfort zone as often as possible, even though it sometimes seems pretty cold out there. But I almost never regret doing it!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted about twenty persons in Copenhagen and Gothenburg, and surfed in New York, Malaga, Cordoba, Madrid, San Francisco, Seattle, Juneau and Anchorage. I also show up to meetings and other CS activities from time to time.

I have been on somewhat of a CS break for the last couple of years, though.

Interests

Photography, writing, drawing, music, and creative activities in general.
Nature, remoteness, wilderness.
Anarchism, ecology and politics.
Mathematics, logic, science.
Hiking, climbing, mountaineering, sailing and all those fun sports.
Computers, programmation, free software and all kinds of geek stuff.

Hundreds of other things that I don't have enough space to list here.

  • writing
  • photography
  • dining
  • wine
  • beer
  • running
  • flying
  • politics
  • drawing
  • music
  • opera
  • hiking
  • windsurfing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • ecology
  • logic
  • mathematics
  • science
  • software
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: pretty much anything, including post-rock (Sigur Rós, Mogwai, Caspian, Explosions in the Sky, etc...) and opera (give me some Verdi or Bizet and I'll purr happily).

Movies and Books, as much as I can find. I used to read a lot of SF/fantasy but have been widening my reading tastes lately. I also read quite a lot of political essays, mainly about anarchism and ecology.

Some movies I've enjoyed recently: Darjeeling Limited, The Fall, Wall-e, The Son of Rambow, Once, Into the Wild, The Fountain, Requiem for a Dream, El Laberinto del Fauno, The Proposition, Stardust, Big Fish, Fucking Åmål, The Assassination of Jesse James by the coward Robert Ford...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Running naked on the snow by -22°C (-8°F), 300km north of the Arctic circle, under northern lights.

Carrying dynamite in the highest mines of the world.

Seeing a condor fly a few meters away from me.

Climbing a 6345m (21,000ft) mountain in Peru.

Seeing an opening night at the Vienna Opera.

Spending 12 days on a glacier at the foot of the highest mountain of North America.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can (and would be very glad to) "teach" photography, including camera manipulation, some theory, capture, digital workflow and postprocessing (to the limit of my own skills, of course). Same goes for computer-related activities, like programming, system administration or website creation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Nepal, Norway, Peru, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, France, Sweden, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexandre’s full profile.

My Groups