Nicolas Maltais-Tariant's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicolas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Full time worker as an "engineer", Really not sure that t...
  • Yes! Been to University in engineering.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Discover the world by bike! Surf, ski! Dive!, Go to Asia and many more!

ABOUT ME

Hi!

PHILOSOPHY

I really don't have any personnal philosophy right now, guess I'm looking for one.
I guess I could say I'm trying to be as open as I can say to learn new things and discover new ways of seeing life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I discovered the site while I was travelling a few years ago. I've never used it. I would be more than happy to host people!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couchsurfed a few times when I went to Europe a couple of years ago. At the time it was a way for me to save money. I realize threw the different couchsurfing experiences that couchsurfing is a lot more than that. It enables you to meet people, most of the time have great fun and to discover the country threw their locals' eyes.

I also couchsurfed my way to Chicago with some friends in 2009.

Interests

Sports (swimming, tennis, dancing, badminton, squash, fighting?, ) and Outdoor sports (hiking, biking, surfing, climbing, diving, skiing, crosscountry skiing, snowshoeing, ).
I like dancing (but I'm really not good at it!).
When I have the time, I'm also a not-so-bad cook, especially during the BBQ season from May to September (but sometimes I continue using the BBQ 'till November!). So I like to make food for my friends, hosting dinners.
On nights, I also like going out, enjoying a good beer (or even better, cider!) or just taking a walk in the neighbors.

  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • bbq
  • technology
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • snowshoeing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • tennis
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

- Books:
L'alchimiste, Tokyo (Mo Hynder), Le parfum, Space Odyssey, Foundation (Asimov), His Dark Materials and a lot of others that I just don't remember.
- Movies
The Hours, Pirates of the Caribbean, Balzac et la petite tailleuse chinoise, Ernest à la chasse au monstre, Labyrinth and Pan's Labyrinth, Beijing Bicyle, Inception.
- Music: Everything you think is good for me!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen those things, that were pretty amazing:
- Angkow Wat
- Machu Pichu
- Forum in Roma

I've climbing a *** volcano that wat 6000meters high in Arequipa that almost killed us all!

I've bike around the châteaux de la Loire in France.

Snorkelling in Ko Phi Phi

I've couchsurf all my way to Chicago, which was awesome!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tech a little bit of cooking.

I can teach french, or explain you he basics (but really only the basics of mandarin and spanish).

You can teach me how to dance (I've taken lessons but only for one semester)

I can show you around Montreal

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, China, England, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicolas’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups