Nikunj  Verma's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nikunj ’s full profile.


  • 95 references 67 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi; learning French, German, Korean, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Physicist
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, my name is Nick and I have had the opportunity to travel and experience different cultures throughout my academic and professional career. I grew up in India and later pursued my studies abroad, including a summer internship in South Korea, a semester exchange in Switzerland, and a Master's degree from MIT in the United States.

After completing my studies, I worked as a Data Scientist in Germany, Poland, and Spain for a couple of years before taking some time to travel and explore exotic locations such as Manali in the Himalayan range of India, Bali, and Thailand.

I am currently pursuing my PhD in Quantum Physics in Switzerland and am excited to continue meeting new people from different parts of the world. I believe that my diverse experiences have helped me gain a unique perspective and adaptability in various professional and personal situations.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story and please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to connect and share your own experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As I mentioned earlier, I have a passion for traveling and experiencing different cultures. I enjoy immersing myself in local communities and living like a local, as I believe it provides a more authentic and enriching experience. Therefore, I often opt to stay with locals rather than in traditional hotels during my travels.

In addition to traveling, I also enjoy hosting travelers who come to my city. I believe that welcoming guests into my home provides an opportunity to learn about different cultures and ways of life. Moreover, it allows me to share my own culture and experiences with others.

Overall, I believe that cultural exchange and exposure to different ways of life can broaden our perspectives and help us develop a greater appreciation for the diversity that exists in the world.

Music, Movies, and Books

I have a wide range of interests when it comes to music, movies, and television series. I particularly enjoy listening to the music of Post Malone, Drake, Lil Uzi Vert, 21 Savage, 50 Cent, Daddy Yankee, Wiz Khalifa, Snoop Dogg, and Ed Sheeran. I find their unique styles and sounds to be both captivating and entertaining.

When it comes to movies, I am drawn to science fiction and fantasy genres, such as Interstellar, Gravity, Inception, and The Curious Case of Breaking Benjamin. I am also a fan of popular movie franchises like Marvel movies, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings.

While I don't have much time for reading books, I am a dedicated fan of television series. I have a broad range of interests in this area, ranging from intense dramas like Game of Thrones and House of Cards, to classic detective stories like Sherlock Holmes, and popular sitcoms like The Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, FRIENDS, Brooklyn 99, The Office, and Rick and Morty.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveled in Europe without a VISA and even without a passport xD

Teach, Learn, Share

In addition to my academic and professional experiences, I have developed various interests and hobbies over the years. For instance, I am well-versed in various science facts and business case studies, which I can share with those who are interested in such topics. However, I understand that not everyone may share these interests, and I am always happy to engage in discussions on a variety of subjects.

Furthermore, I enjoy playing the guitar and can provide beginner-level guidance on chords, riffs, and scales. For those who are professional guitar players, I am open to learning from them and improving my own skills.

Currently, I am actively working on improving my language skills in German, French and Spanish. If you are fluent in either language, I would welcome the opportunity to practice conversing and refining my understanding of these languages.

In any case, I am always interested in connecting with individuals from different backgrounds and learning about their experiences and stories. I believe that such interactions can help broaden our perspectives and contribute to personal and professional growth.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love spending time with my hosts, whether we're exploring the city, relaxing at home, or sharing a meal or coffee. I enjoy sharing travel stories and learning about their experiences, as I believe cultural exchange is a unique and enriching experience

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Germany, India, Indonesia, Poland, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nikunj ’s full profile.