Niko Lipsanen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Niko’s full profile.

Overview

  • 378 references 341 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, French; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • geographer
  • MSc
  • From Mikkelin mlk
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

LAST MINUTE REQUESTS WELCOME! I live within an easy walking distance from the city centre (2 km) and from many other places of interest, including most passenger ports. My home is also close to the seashore and to the design district with many vintage and second-hand shops, and to Hietalahti flea market. Nearest tramway stop is "Munkkisaari" (200 metres, line 6; for approximate location, check it at your favourite map application).

I often know rather late when I am able to host so last minute requests are very welcome. At the moment (summer 2024), I AM ABLE TO HOST ONLY OCCASIONALLY. You can ask but there is a big chance that I have to decline your request.

Both overnight guests and those staying for 2-4 nights are welcome. I am often too busy to show you a lot around although I am happy to do it when I have time. Let me know if you want to go somewhere together so I can see if I can arrange some time but I am also fine with guests who just spend the day away and have a cup tea or a glass of beer together in the evening.

My home is just one small room. You will have your own bed to sleep but I am sleeping in the same room myself. I have sometimes a dog or two here - and even if not, at least there is dog hair somewhere. Hence I hope that you are not allergic to or afraid of dogs.

DON'T SEND LONG REQUESTS, please. Just tell when you come, for how many nights, are you travelling alone or with someone, and if you have some particular plans that I should be aware of (for instance, if you like me to participate). You don't have to introduce yourself: I can read your profile.

Late arrivals and last minute requests are fine. I don't usually know my schedule for long time in advance and hence I prefer requests just one or few days before arrival, or even same day. If you ask earlier I may confirm it only closer to the date.

I am Christian (Lutheran) but guests can be of any denomination or religion or of none at all. I will not proselytize and I hope that you will neither.

LGBTQ (or any other letter) people welcome: I may not always be up to date with all the vocabulary but I am friendly to everybody.

I am fully vaccinated (4 doses) against Covid-19.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I mostly host. Particularly I like returning guests. Hence, if you have stayed with me before and we left positive references to each other, you are most welcome again.

Interests

  • dogs
  • environment
  • sauna
  • christian
  • geography
  • tea
  • vaccinated

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have hosted 400+ guests, mostly here in CouchSurfing.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you get hosted by me you might end up in my Instagram @nlipsane. I use it mostly as a guestbook to remember whom I have hosted or met. I hope that you don't mind.

Tea is always available, and maybe something with it. We can cook together, if you wish. There are also a plenty of restaurants nearby but unfortunately many of them are rather expensive.

If we cook together, I eat almost anything but not mushrooms or mustard. Also, I don't like very cheesy foods. I eat meat but not every day so vegetarian/vegan cooking is good too.

I have wi-fi at home.

SAUNA!
I recommend trying Finnish sauna. There are plenty of options. There are options that are completely free or rather cheap but also more expensive ones. It can be mixed gender, females/males only, or private. With swimming pool, swimming in the sea (any season), or no swimming. Wooden heated or electric. In swimwear or naked. Available options and combinations may depend, however, on the season and on the days of the week that you are here.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Dominica, Finland, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Niko’s full profile.

My Groups