Logo orange

Polly J

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Polly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 150 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Russian
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Architecture / Design
  • Yes. Educated.
  • From Cholpon Ata, Ysyk Kol Province, Kyrgyzstan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I like people. i like travel.

ABOUT ME

I am curious, inquisitive, inventive and usually up for anything, especially anything active, I like€“ street badminton, hiking, trekking, running, slacklining, rock climbing.
I love to travel, I love adventure, discovery, hitchhiking, camping, and all modes of transport including horse and donkey! I love meeting new people, hearing their stories, sharing things learned.

I am not tall (easy to recognize).I eat little and can paint on any surface.€“
If you have something to paint i can help :) I like to cook for others, the food tends to always be edible, mostly tasty. I do not take up much space, I€“ can be very compact, and I have also learnt how to efficiently pack my backpack! it amazing how much it can actually fit in - this skill took a while though.

I like fruit, walking fast, drinking coffee from large cups, red chairs, cars that work, using chopsticks, paint, furry creatures, black bread and attic spaces. Of course I like a lot of other things as well...

i don't like cockroaches(specifically giant flying ones).

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been hosting and surfing since 2006, I have lived on couches, beds, floors, hammocks all over the world, met some fantastic people that made me feel incredibly welcome in their homes, shared may teas and coffees :) I have also hosted many people - my old Sydney sharehouse hosted non-stop for a couple of years, and the last two of years my new sharehouse has also been hosting from time to time. Also every summer I try to return to Kyrgyzstan, where I host at my grandparent's place. It is wonderfully different everytime, lovely moments, amazing stories and adventures. I have met some unforgettable people, and many have remained great friends many years since first meeting them, which makes traveling even more amazing, I always have wonderful people to visit!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I love meeting people! Sharing stories, learning new things, sharing! this is my main motivation for couchsurfing, everyone has something very unique, stories, skills, ideas, and theories. I love spontaneous meetings,and have met the most amazing people through travelling and hosting, many have remained friends.
I love to interact with all kinds of people, quirky, interesting, silly, creative, adventurous.

Interests

I love doing projects, making things, planting, growing, building anything hands on. I love to do improvised photoshoots, filming, painting anything and everything, learning new cooking skills, pickling fruit and vegetables for winter, making jam, restoring furniture, looking after animals, growing plants.


I love anything active... although mountains are my favourite :) I like to go on many day hikes, camping, climbing (although usually just what can be done without ropes and equipment). I like road trips, adventures, canyoning!

Music, Movies & Books

I really enjoy music as well, but I am utterly tone deaf, so completely useless at playing instruments and singing, but I am good at listening.

movies: The life of others, the pillow book, shallow grave, the city of god, true romance, requiem for a dream, the dreamers, an education, hard candy, intouchables, kiss kiss bang bang, mr.nobody, boyhood.... the list goes on.. and on

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Meeting a young shepherd on horse back on the ridge of a mountain in the middle of Kyrgyzstan, climbing on the horse and riding along the a narrow path with two steep cliff drops on either side. The shepherd also had two large dogs with him, the bigger one no longer had a bottom jaw because it was kicked by a cow a few days before. He demonstrated his version of fetch – by throwing a rock over the edge, and the jawless dog jumped right off the steep edge after it. Both dog and rock survived :)
Hitchhiking in Australia – Almost the first words from every driver were ‘Haven’t you heard of Ivan Milat (an infamous Australian serial backpacker killer that they could not catch for 15 years ), why are you hitchhiking?’ I must have heard this exact line at least a dozen times.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach anyone - who tells me they have no a artistic skills at all, how to draw a human ( or horse) in proportion:)

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Kyrgyzstan, Netherlands, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Polly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile