Logo orange

Will Hatton

Exeter, Devon, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 109 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, German, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Travel Writer and Explorer.
  • Bachelor of Science in Middle Easter...
  • From Brighton / Exeter
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel, learn, teach, share and love.

ABOUT ME

Adventurous, Adrenaline Junkie, Traveller, Excitable, Explorer, Handy with a pickaxe, Crossfitter, Martial Artist, Hiker, Windsurfer, super enthusiastic!

Hello! My name is Will and I want to be an explorer!

My first time travelling was a true adventure where I ended up in hospital for two weeks during the first week of a trip around central america... since then I have been passionate about exploring the world and visiting new places. I am very keen on travelling to new destinations and where possible fully immersing myself in the culture. Whenever I have the time I like to live for a while in the village, town or city that I have stopped in... I've been lucky enough to have been travelling on and off for nearly five years now.

I am currently really keen to learn more about natural building and permaculture.

I am super keen on Crossfit and I work out with rocks when traveling :)

Check out my website on travelling with no money - www.thebrokebackpacker.com

I am not sure exactly what makes me want to move and travel around the world but I have an incredible urge inside me to keep travelling and to keep meeting new people and experiencing new things...

No limits, take it easy :)

I have spent over a year in India in total and have extensively traveled there as well as living in Udaipur in Rajahstan for a while.

I don't drink a huge amount and I don't smoke cigarettes, I do however very much like a good party and my salsa dancing is bad yet enthusiastic!

PHILOSOPHY

Argue for your limitations and sure enough they are yours

I do not trust the government to act in my best interests.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

The most important thing for me about travelling is to meet new people and I have had some fantastic experiences with couchsurfers around the world...

I love helping CSers out on farming and natural building projects.

I am keen to host surfers whenever I am in a location for long enough to do so and I really enjoy chatting and where possible offering advice on the forums :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have had some awesome experiences and met some really cool people, been serrenaded by Laos's best singer, hung out with some bongoes in the sahara and discovered the full strength of romanian beers in underground bars, chilled out in a cave overlooking Petra, worked side by side with other couchsurfers on a permaculture project, trained with Samurai, herded goats, dug holes, downed shots and made some lasting and valued friendships :)

Interests

Being somewhere new!

Not knowing where I will go next...

Crossfit!

Permaculture and natural building

Any outdoor sport.

Trekking.

I love a good day of honest labour and if you need help building, destroying or moving anything will work for you for free (meals are appreciated) if I can help :)

Music, Movies & Books

Movies; Gladiator, Shawshank Redemption, Pan's labyrinth, The Headhunter, Apocalypto, My name is Khan, Deadwood, Six feet under, Games of Thrones, True Blood, Last of the Mohican's, Batman Begins...

Music; I love anything really, prefer stuff that is easy to dance to... Love watching live music.

Books; The Book Thief, The Passage, Lord of the Rings, Lost in the Jungle, The Cloud Garden, Geronimo, On the Road.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The sunrise over Mt. Kilimanjaro on my 19th birthday...

Endless glaciers in Iceland

Exploring the ruins of Hampi (On 4 separate trips!)

Working for the Vietmanese mafia

Firing an AK47

Crashing a motorbike in the mountains of Dalat

Riding an Ostrich

Exploring the Sahara by camel

Working in a remote village in India towards a water project

Hitch hiking 3500 miles

Sleeping in a Bedouin cave overlooking Petra

Backpacking for over a year in India

Experimenting with LSD

Being held by Israeli border police whilst returning from Palestine

Herding goats in the holy land

Nearly dying in; Costa Rica, Nepal.

Crossing the highest navigable pass in the world

Getting into restricted areas in Burma

Traversing the largest cave in Asia

Falling in love a long time ago.

Getting a dream job after sending in a letter which began with "I am the man for this job"

Building my website - www.thebrokebackpacker.com

Joining couchsurfing...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you Jiu Jitsu, I can show you how to windsurf, I used to teach swimming...I can show you how to do the perfect handstand press up, I can tell you all about packing light and taking the right equipment...

Can you teach me any martial art?

Can you show me hidden local places?

Do you know how to farm? Do you know how to shoot?

Can you teach me a language?

Can you show me how to cook?

Do you know how to build things?

Can you fix motorbikes?

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Laos, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile