Jón (Nonni) Friðriksson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jón (Nonni)’s full profile.

Overview

  • 88 references 62 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Chef/Manager
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hæ! Please read this !!!

Everyone calls me Nonni. I've lived in Mývatn area for 16 years now and probably won't ever leave!
I'm the chef/manager at Kaffi Borgir, it's the restaurant/cafe that I run with my family. We also have a small farm with sheep and goats, and have a few horses at a friends farm.

You can call me Nonni :) please use it in your request.

Read "Why I'm on Couchsurfing" section too please !

Being the only host in the area means I get a lot of request per day. I always try to respond to the ones with the closest dates and if I your date is a few weeks away, I won't know if I can host or not so I don't respond until I know. Just so you know and don't think I'm ignoring you :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm not on CS to hand out free accommodation! I want to meet and get to know my CS guests.
I'm ok with late arrivals and people leaving early. All I ask for is you come with me to the secret local hot spring for a quick relaxing bath and chat. (Maybe some beer if you want to try Icelandic beer) The hot spring is very warm and I and other locals always go naked there. I hope that you are open minded and adventurous enough to try it with me!
If you did read all of this and want to join me in an Icelandic adventure then mention the nude bath in your request. It will save me a lot of time.

Interests

Sports, computers, nature , food, beer and LIFE!

  • animals
  • dining
  • beer
  • traveling
  • sports
  • food
  • nature
  • farming
  • hot springs

Music, Movies, and Books

I really do listen to any type of music as long as it's good.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Had a lot of fun and amazing things in my life that I can't just pick one but if I had to then...
Living in Mývatn is probably the most amazing thing I've done so far.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can try and teach you Icelandic but it is very hard. Cooking is also something I can help with, I'm not a learned chef but I've been in the cooking field for some time and picked up a trick or two.
People have told me I am very generous (sometimes even too generous) and even more so when I enjoy a persons company so I really love to share anything I can, be it food, drinks, stories, advice or whatever you may need.
Always willing to try and learn new things!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, England, Spain, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Iceland

Join Couchsurfing to see Jón (Nonni)’s full profile.