Owen Landis

Jaffrey, New Hampshire, United States

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Owen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Baker/Drummer/Rock climbing instructor/Farmer
  • Homeschooled!
  • From Jaffrey, NH
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To always be in the moment and fill it with happiness!


I am the youngest of four, born and raised in Jaffrey, NH. I was home schooled through high school, and love to play music (mostly drums for a couple different bands, but just started to play sax), rock climb, and do almost anything outside. I live with my wife, twin brother, and parents in an off the grid, solar powered, wood heated home.

I am very interested in living and working with nature, and creating a spiritual connection to the land.

For the past two years, I have worked as a rock climbing instructor at Kroka Expeditions in NH.
I have lately gotten very much into bread baking, and along with my wife, bake for a small, local CSA during the summer months. I plan to build a clay oven in the spring and learn about wood-hearth baking. I have done some gardening and farming throughout my life, but I would love to do and learn more.

I play drums for the Terry Landis Band (my mother!). We play mostly singer-songwriter/folk/world music covers, but write some originals too. We recorded our first CD in 2009 called Barefoot Through The Music (available on itunes). I also play with a new band called Run Gazelle Run (more info to come).


That my actions should reflect my beliefs

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am new to Couch Surfing; but believe in alternative economic systems and that the best way to learn about a place/region is to get to know the people who inhabit it and to really get a feel for the environment.


I guess the majority of my couch surfing experiences have been with my wife's family and some friends whom I've made during travels in Ecuador.


Rock climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

I love any music that is creative and engaging. Books by Lobsang Rampa, I really like Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins, too

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Married my wife!
slept under the stars in Ecuador on a rock climbing trip and woke up to find a wild bull outside the tent.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a rock climbing instructor and really love to bake- from cakes, cookies, pies, sourdough and yeasted breads to crackers, tarts, muffins and scones. I have some organic/biodynamic farming experience and like to work by hand. Manual labor (especially outdoors) is something I usually enjoy, too. I am also happy to show someone the basics of drumming (by hand or on a kit).

Countries I’ve Visited

Ecuador, Israel, Mexico, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Owen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups