Matthias's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 8% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile.

Overview

  • 67 references 60 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Something with trains
  • Graduate engineer
  • From Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

+++Notes for surfers: Non-smokers only! If you need to smoke ask somebody else. I also have a neighbour under me - very sensitive to any noise - never ring at Hovest! When you arrive and you don't know what to do - please stay silent until I recognize you!

If you want to come make sure that you will come before 10 pm. No bell after 10 pm! This means if you arrive by plane that you will land before 8 pm. Also make sure that you don't need to leave me before 7 am. I'm neither a hotel or hostel nor I have a reception and can react immediately. Also only ask if you have good English and/or German language knowledge. For navigation there is the VBB app on public transport. Please don't ask to stay if you are unable to use. In Germany we only have little public wifi - if you are from outside the EU please buy a prepaid sim if you need internet - for example for navigation.

Never use public transport without ticket! As I live already outside the border of Berlin you need a ticket including zone C. Please ask if you need advice.

+++

Unorganized, likeable nerdy man who is honest and helpful. When I am not in my office of Bombardier plant monitoring technical stuff I spent most time at home doing internet stuff. Sometimes I go out and do geocaching exploring Berlin and surroundings.

If you travel from London please bring me a cup with the tube-network printed on and the label "Mind the gap". Mine is broken.

I will write only short review about your stay.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A friend has recommended it to me. I like to help other people.

Interests

  • politics
  • podcasts
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • ecology
  • trains
  • geocaching
  • audiobooks
  • ice cream

Music, Movies, and Books

I like music from classic to fun-metal and rock but mostly I listen to podcasts about technology, science or serials. I don't watch so many movies but I liked Blues Brothers.

Jostein Gaarder - Sophies World
Marc-Uwe Kling - Kanagaroo chronicals
Horst Evers
Kurt Tucholsky

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Many of this amazings things are connected to helping. I also loved beeing on the stage of re:publica.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can fix things and I can share my home and WiFi. In good company I also gladly will share a beer.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you have a computer issues I might be able to help you.
For visitors from foreign country I recommend to buy a pre-paid sim-card as free WiFi still is not so established in Germany.
I live about one hour away from Tegel Airport (Ticket BC) and about two hours from Schoenefeld Airport (need ticket ABC - while not riding over Potsdam)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthias’s full profile.

My Groups