Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 65% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oli’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 82 References 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Time Traveller / Part Time Cook / Architecture Student
  • Bach. Enviromental Design (Architecture)
  • From Tasmania, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

//Currently on hiatus, if you have previously surfed with me before I would love to host you again. If not and you would still like to stay send me a request anyway, but please read my profile.

Make most of what I've got, and learn as much as I can.

HOST ANYONE I've previously met anywhere in the world and promote Tasmanian tourism.

I see myself as an ambassador to Tasmanian tourism through couchsuring, I attempt to make everyones stay in Tasmania memorable and unique as I won't push you towards the locations which need to be ticked off.

ABOUT ME

Currently living back in Launceston, each time I return the city and state just keeps getting better. At the moment I think it is the best city in the world.

Previously lived for a semester in Albuquerque, New Mexico studying architecture. If I had the chance I would also move back and live there, it's almost the complete opposite of Tasmania.

I'm currently reside in Launceston, working for a small company during week days. Some times if you message me during the holidays/weekends you might get the opportunity to come at stay at my mothers place in St Marys

I lived in Whistler/Vancouver area straight after I finished high school in 2009 as a gap year experience which lasted two. This really taught me a lot, I had many mentors that have shaped me to who I am today. A lot of people welcomed me with open arms to teach me anything. Any of my friends who could make the effort to come to Canada were welcome to stay with me for as long as they wished.

PHILOSOPHY

Work, study and play hard;

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love how this website works, it really provides the missing link between getting to meet the locals when your a tourist. It really makes it easy when you visit a foreign city.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My best CS experience was with Kie in Seoul, South Korea. Never did I think that after one night I would end up spending 25 with the same person every day. This one of the best experiences I've ever had with this website and without CS this would have never been possible .

Meeting countless people on my travels who have come to Tasmania after my recommendation and have really enjoyed it.

After meeting a couch surfer for just a drink on one afternoon in Tasmania a couple months later we travelled SE Asia for a month together.

My best couch surfing experience by far was meeting 30 other people in Hanoi, Vietnam for a meetup to enjoy street BBQ food.

Meeting life long friends who I ended up travelling SEA with, and others who I keep in daily contact with.

And so many more, if you host me we can talk about them. I am so grateful for such a great community to exist.

Interests

Snowboarding when I can, which doesn't happen that often as Tasmania only has one good weekend a year.
Mountain bike riding, walking, hiking, backpacking, hitch hiking, cooking, drinking good beer, drinking good coffee, drinking hot water, meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Cooking books, Biographies.
Foreign movies
Hip Hop, Drum & bass, Dubstep, House and pretty much any EDM.

https://soundcloud.com/bigolss If you want a better taste of what I'm listening to at the moment.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Sauna at a Finnish summer cabin via a host I met on CS

-Traveling to Lofoten in Norway

-Coming back to Tasmania after living away for two years and really appreciating the natural environment, and how unique the bio-diversity is.

-Visiting Yangoon technical university Architectural department

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm lazy when it comes to cooking but I do know how to make a really cheap meal out of nothing. I would really like to learn another language since I didn't have the opportunity while I was in high school.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A lot, just ask otherwise you will never know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, South Korea, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Oli’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups