Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Omar’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Growing up
  • Impact Investing - Social entrepreneurship
  • From Casablanca, Grand Casablanca, Morocco
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Being happy by contributing to the happiness of others.


I grew up in Casablanca, lived there til 2010 then moved to Paris for studies. In July 2014, I moved to Singapore to complete my master, then to Kuala Lumpur for an internship, and finally to Cape Town, where I work for an NGO that promotes social entrepreneurship.

It's been 4 years I'm on CS, and it's funny how the need to change my profile description hints me on how my view of the world changes! At the moment, I want to work hard to figure out what the "Common Good" is.


Be severe and demanding with yourself; be tolerant and forgiving with others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By telling everybody about CS... and compelling them to sign in >=(


I've surfed in Brussels, Vienna, Budapest, Ljubljana, Milan, Torino, Lille, Toulouse, Bruges, Gent, Lausanne, Copenhagen, Brussels, Leuven, Barcelona, Johannesburg! Every single experience was totally different, and I've never been disappointed by a CSer =).

Hosted once in December 2011 in Paris for the NYE, and starting to host again in Cape Town with my one of my housemates Sandy Juhel!


Composing and exploring music, watching indie cinema, cooking vegetarian dishes, swimming, running, climbing, learning languages.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite directors : Stanley Kubrick, Joel and Ethan Cohen, Jim Jarmusch, Paul Thomas Anderson

As for the music, randomly : Applause, Alt-J, James Blake, Vampire Weekend, Bombay Bicycle Club, Tame Impala, Chet Baker, Nina Simone, Keziah Jones, BB King, Charlie Parker, C2C, Wax Tailor, Massive Attack, Chinese Man, Serge Gainsbourg, Jacques Brel, The Beatles, Hocus Pocus, Fairouz, King Krule, Moby, S.o.j.a, Patrice, Ottis Redding, Miles Davis, Jeff Buckley...

Books : Herman Hesse, Elif Shafak, Jack Kerouac, Nabokov, Oscar Wilde, Romain Gary, Raymond Queneau, Goethe...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Milan, 10pm, my mate and I missed our train, had to wait for the next one at 7am... and then : We slept in the street with two girls from Danemark, woke up at 4am, their money, passeports and everything were gone, lead them to the police station, missed the other train, waited for another, slept 2 hours inside, then we've been kicked out cause our interrail pass expired the day before, found ourselves in Parma, walked 5 kilometers to reach the highway, tried to hitchhike, been caught by the police, went back to the train station, spent all our money to buy tickets, arrived in Roma, took a metro, another train, a bus, a shuttle bus, suffered a storm without umbrellas, arrived in our camp at 11 pm... everything was closed and we had had absolutely no food for 25hours... and there was nothing to eat til the day after... But we had fun.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach how to play the guitar, moroccan percussions, how to speak french or arabic. Maybe how to cook tajines.. You'll just have to ask!
I'll try and learn whatever you can teach me =)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Myanmar, Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Malaysia, Morocco, Singapore, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Omar’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups