Omkar .'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Omkar’s full profile.

Overview

  • 67 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Marathi (Marāṭhī), Sanskrit (Saṁskṛta); learning German, Indonesian, Japanese, Russian, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Mumbai University student
  • Mechanical Engineer
  • From Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

📍Abu Dhabi, UAE (Dubai)
Moved to Abudhabi, Can host now! :)

NOTE: Please DON’T send a random hi or a friend request unless we know each other or we’ve met each other IRL.
NOTE2: Couchsurfing is not a dating app so please don’t use it as one.

This year travels:
Jan - EU
Feb - EU
March- India
April - India
May- Japan
June- Central Asia
July/Aug- Balkans and EEU
5/7 - 25/7 (Albania)
26/7 - 14/8 (Montenegro)
15/8- 28/8 (Bosnia & Herzegovina)
Sept- Bhutan

My name is Omkar (This is how you’d pronounce it: Om, from the Yoga 🧘‍♂️ and a 🚘 with a K)
I’ve been backpacking for the last three years on and off now and I love it. I backpacked almost entire India with an exception to a few states in the mainland and the north-east. I feel that India is not one country but 28 different countries in one. All these 28 countries have their own things which includes special foods, clothing, languages, landscapes, culture.
With that, I have also been to some countries which Indians rarely go to. There’s a notion among Indian people that the travel should be limited to a period of a week or two and should be extravagant. I wanna break that!
The pandemic somehow changed my perspective of viewing life and made me understand how fragile it is. That being said, I have decided to leave every moment of my life moving forward.
Before sending me a request please include the code word ‘Home’ in your request so I know that you’ve understood the arrangement.

Hosting arrangement 🛏️
Private room with a comfortable bed.
All basic needs.
Kitchen ( can provide basic ingredients but if you want to cook then please bring your own groceries)

I can host for 2 nights at the most as of now so please don’t send request that are longer than that. Also, please refer and adhere to the house rules before you come. It is of utmost importance that they are respected as the apartment is my parents. You’d get to experience the best of Indian hospitality if you’d respect the rules.

***Please read the CS guidelines and send personalized requests. Couchsurfers host people in their homes (Not free hostels) and take the time to show you hidden gems in their cities. Please, let's try to maintain the CS spirit***

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Why not!
But on a serious note, I personally believe that people in this world need this community to exist so that the balance is maintained.

Interests

Meeting people and learning new languages are couple of interesting things which I think about as of now whilst I’m writing this but I believe only until you meet a person you’d get to know what their true interests are.

  • poetry
  • singing
  • dancing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • hitchhiking
  • trekking
  • flute
  • learning
  • driving
  • communication
  • telling stories
  • rain
  • humming
  • hitch-hiking
  • sharing stories
  • summer
  • reading novels
  • helping others
  • coin collection
  • love to meet new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:-
The monk who sold his Ferrari, 1000 days of spring, 1000 days of summer. Man, I cant say more , Tomislav Perko is the legit guy who’s one of the extreme traveler and I’m here on CS because of this guy, NGL.
Movie:-
Into the wild( I frekin love this one, all time classic)
Motorcycle diaries.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I believe it’s always in the little things. One such incident that I remember of is when I was travelling with my parents. We were on the train station and we saw a little girl asking for some water to the shopkeeper. The shopkeeper denied the water but still the girl kept her composure. I was observing this incident from a distance and I had half filled bottle of water. I just offered the girl my bottle of water without a second thought and her sparkling eyes made me quite emotional. It’s always the little amazing things :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I’m good at negotiations, maybe we could go on a tour of your local market and I’ll get you a good deal 🤫🤭

What I Can Share with Hosts

My mom taught me how to cook and survive. Also I believe that I cook great food. One of the best that I could cook is a Butter Chicken. HMU for the recipe.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Cambodia, Egypt, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Oman, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India

Join Couchsurfing to see Omkar’s full profile.

My Groups