Diana's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Diana’s full profile.

Overview

  • 46 references 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning English, French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Social worker
  • B.A. Psychology and Political Science from Millsaps College
  • From Jackson, MS, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm half Egyptian, half Nigerian, born in the States. I live in Portland, Oregon, moved here from Jackson Mississippi in 2015. I enjoy traveling and am always looking for excuses to go somewhere new or visit a place I’ve already been. I like that meeting travelers in my own town through CS. I like that CS allows me to experience other cultures when I’m not able to travel. I’m one of three organizers for a weekly meetup in Portland that occurs every Thursday night at Cartopia on Hawthorne Blvd.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I used to host regularly in Jackson, Mississippi when I lived alone, but then I moved to Portland in September 2015. I was living with a roommate for a while but am now alone again and can host sometimes. I’m also very happy to meet couchsurfers passing through Portland for tea, talks, walks, dancing, etc. I’m also always excited to meet up while traveling. I like to participate in outings and meetups with the local CS community.

Interests

Solo travel, mixed media art, music I can dance to, the beach, vegetarian gluten-free cooking, writing letters, photography, hiking, kayaking, book stores, health and nutrition, psychology, writing and reading short stories and short film, creating

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • photography
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • lgbt rights
  • exercise
  • meditation
  • walking
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • drinking
  • house parties
  • reading
  • socializing
  • painting
  • live music
  • jazz
  • hip-hop music
  • blues
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • history
  • languages
  • neuroscience
  • psychology
  • volunteering
  • nature
  • tea
  • short stories
  • short films
  • zen
  • knowledge
  • queer
  • stand up comedy
  • exploring new places
  • comedy
  • meeting new people
  • cinematography
  • nutrition
  • healthy lifestyle
  • vegetarian cooking
  • vegan cooking
  • hot springs
  • bob dylan
  • helping others

Music, Movies, and Books

I like old school and some new hip hop, some rap, some disco, and just a huge mix of genres. Some artists you’ll find on my playlists are Bob Dylan, Funkadelic, Ice Cube, The XX, Chromeo, Fleetwood Mac, Eminem, Tycho, Gramatic, The Knife, Jai Paul, Hot Chip, Sade, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Lykke Li, Moonlight Breakfast, Earth, Wind, and Fire, Talking Heads, Herbie Mann, Kendrick Lamar, Drake, Britney Spears (yes), Stevie Wonder, Bootsie Collins, Jamila Woods, Daft Punk

I like reading fiction and nonfiction short story collections, zines, flash fiction, novels. Some movies I enjoy are City Lights, Jeux D'enfants, Pulp Fiction, Psycho, It Happened One Night, Run Lola Run, The Graduate, Orphan, The Godfather.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ha Long Bay, Vietnam- staying there on a boat for 2 days and kayaking and walking through the caves there. Utterly beautiful.
Niagara Falls = Gorgeous morning and night.
The view from Nietzsche's trail near the Èze-bord-de-Mer train station in Èze, France.
The XX performing live at Bonnaroo 2010.
Florence and the Machine live at Voodoo fest 2010.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can offer lots of vegan/vegetarian/gluten free eats in Portland and a night of dancing when I’m in the mood for it!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, food, dances, hugs, and maybe a couch or futon.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Diana’s full profile.

My Groups