Manu G.Onecha's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manu’s full profile.

Overview

  • 388 references 192 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Self employed
  • Degrees in -Chemistry and -Foreign Languages Teaching.
  • From Valladolid, Castile and León, Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

My name is Manuel (Manu) and I am from the north of Spain but living in Las Palmas and usually I cannot host since I live with my gf in a very small studio.

After studying Chemistry and working on research in different countries, I had a big change in my life when I was 27 and I went to Chile where I spent more than 2 years collaborating in a humble school in Patagonia.

I felt so satisfied with my life that I was thinking to stay there for ever but finally I came back and I taught in Spain and England till 2014 -Trying to teach not just the subjects but also important things for life, like the ones I learnt in South America...- We even founded a Charity: www.university4all.org

But due to different reasons, things changed again and now I don't teach full time, but I run a serviced accommodation business in Birmingham (UK), and traveling as much as I can. I am doing the following blog: www.travel.gago.info where I want to give useful information about CouchSurfing and HitchHiking around the world.

BTW, I´m 1,95 metres tall (6.5 ft) but I fit in any bed or maybe floor :)

PHILOSOPHY

- Many small people doing many small things in many small places can change the world
- You must be the change You wish to see in the world (Gandhi)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As I said, I enjoy hosting, surfing, traveling, and participating in the local communities

Interests

NGO´s, Education, Hitchhiking, Guitar, Dancing (I'm learning salsa, bachata, kizomba, merengue, tango...), Music, Web design, Cultural Exchanges, Justice, Ecology...

  • dancing
  • education
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • science
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • hospitality

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm just going to talk about the music I play with the guitar: Spanish and Latin american songs, and a bit of International hits

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

As you know, the most exciting (In my humble opinion) thing I"ve ever done was those 2 years in a little island´s school in the south of Chile.
At the University I was involved in so many organisations that once I had to be in 7 places at the same time :)
I´m the honor president and founder of the Spanish National Society of Chemistry Students. I also had a European post at www.best.eu.org. I was democratically elected representative of the 35.000 students of my University in 2 European congresses and I founded a charity in Madrid with the help of other couchsurfers

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach to play guitar, webdesign, computing, etc.
One important thing I like to learn is about University scholarships around the world for our NGO scholarships database: u4all.org
I like to talk about the sense of life, justice, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, hanging out together, a meal in a restaurant, Sharing experiences about hitch hiking and couchsurfing around the world, playing guitar, teaching basic salsa or kizomba steps...

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kuwait, Laos, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Germany, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    57 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Manu’s full profile.

My Groups