Olli Kärkkäinen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Olli’s full profile.

Overview

  • 20 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Italian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Researcher
  • PhD
  • From Siilinjärvi, Finland
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

We are Olli, Laura, Leevi (born 2011) and Aliina (born 2016), a family living in Kuopio.

We have space in quest room to host surfers. While traveling we like to get to now local people in order to understand the culture a bit more.

I'm doing research in the University of Eastern Finland. Laura is working in local University Hospital as a nurce. And our kids are playing, sleeping, eating and growing up in a fast phase.

Please note that before year 2011 I was living in a apartment with three other people who helped a lot to host people, so referencens left before 2011 refer to that appartment, not to the present one.

Here are links to profiles of my former flat mates Aleksi and Minna:
Aleksi: http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/poljento/
Minna: http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/unnunnu/

PHILOSOPHY

You should enjoy life, be positive.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have been hosting since fall of 2009.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have met really nice people from all over the world! And with hosting, it's almost like traveling without moving as you get to know different cultures in your own home.

Interests

Well, common interest for both of us is travelling. We both have done exchange studies abroad, me in Ireland and Laura in India, we have done interrail trip in Europe and Laura has been a volynteer in Israel and we all went to Ghana. Other interest are board games, reading, music, wines, beer and cooking.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • politics
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • snowboarding
  • history
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Plenty, but just to say some: I like Hemingway, but we read more science books. Currently I'm listening plenty of bands that mix traditional elements to rock or punk, and we both like to watch Miyazakis movies...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Surfed in Ireland, Biked in Alcase, Hiked in Negev, Snowboarded in Patakukkulat...

Teach, Learn, Share

Pharmacy, health care, snowboarding, board games, finnish (did you know that it's the language that Tolkien used as an inspiration to the great elven language...).

Interested to always learn more about history, religion, politics, ideas and ideologies. About the motives of peoples actions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Morocco, Palestine, Romania, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Togo, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Olli’s full profile.