Logo orange

Paddy's Groups

Paddy Reid

United Kingdom

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paddy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 50 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • soul adventurer
  • here, there, and everywhere
  • From bangor, northern ireland
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm a pretty relaxed person who likes to take things as they come, but I'm always ready to help others where I can. I enjoy the company of others and the community life, but I also like spending time alone.

I enjoy reading, thinking, sometimes writing. I love cooking and baking, and sharing these things with others. I love the sea, spring time, live music, funny people, flowers and fresh air, colours, smells and patterns.
i enjoy the city life, but i also love nature. i love sunshine, smiles, laughs, calmness, silence, bird song, tea, philosophy and all things knotted, knitted and woven...

PHILOSOPHY

life for me is a continuous process of learning. there's so much diversity in the world, so much to be explored, shared, experienced, understood. travelling is the most interesting, spontaneous and enriching form of learning in my experience, and that is why i love it.
we take so much for granted, and although having fun is the the main premise of my life philosophy, i like to be and try to be, always aware of what i'm experiencing.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
By hosting you when I have a place, and helping you with any information I can.
Being a respectful guest in your home, hopefully making you feel as at ease as with an old (or new!) friend. Happy to share and teach you what I can! Life is a time for celebration, and these encounters with new people and cultures make it all the more special!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
Hosted many a great soul in Glasgow and I experienced great hospitality, kindness and enthusiasm whilst surfing in europe and all over south america. scrambled up mountains, swam in the sea, danced in the streets, laughed lots, ate excellent homemade local food, and slept incredibly well!

Interests

digeridoo, handicrafts, music, literature, culture;
earthships, permaculture, self-sustainability;
dancing, laughing, expressing myself;
yoga, massage, well-being;
tea;
moss, mountains, bathing in rivers;
learning about plants, growing things and foraging!
silence and simplicity;
taking time with people to talk, cook and eat, exchange music, stories, knowledge, whatever..

Music, Movies & Books

In the last few years I've read less and spent more time making handicrafts and music, but I definitely appreciate the beautiful craft of words on a page, and their ability to reach deep and sensitive parts inside us...A couple of things:
milan kundera, the book of tea, brion gyson, electric kool-aid acid test, louis macneice, yeats, siddartha, roberto juarroz, atahualpa yupanqui, a hundred years of solitude, the dharma bums, desiderata by max erhmann.

jazz, tropicalia, bossa nova, reggae, irish trad, andean folk music, the hypnotic rythms of tinariwen, and the colourful music of africa.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

hitching hiking a catamaran from Gran Canaria to Brazil! i saw and experienced many amazing things during that time, from flying fish, to swimming with wild dolphins, showering in the rain of a storm, and approaching land again after 38 days....

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach you some nice,relaxing,easy yoga-i like to practice while i`m on the move, so lets find a park and go!
i know a little thai massage and tui na;
i would like to share and learn macrame and crochet;
i would love to learn to weave;
i would like to learn about your culture, your food, your history, you as an individual. and anything else you can teach me- i want to learn Portuguese, french, origami, and how to make things from nothing.

What I Can Share With Hosts

the joy of living!
whatever I have inside my backpack, is yours as well :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Cabo Verde, Colombia, Croatia, France, Germany, India, Peru, Spain, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Czech Republic, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Paddy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile