Pam 'Tevagirl''s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pam’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 55, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • attorney
  • University of South Carolina, Melbourne University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in the Carolinas (USA), I've been a police officer, a prosecutor, college professor, and legal advisor for police. I always wanted to come to Australia, and after working in Afghanistan for a few years, I finally had the opportunity. I finished a Masters in International Law in Melbourne, Australia, and traveled as much of Australia as I could for 18 mos. I'm now back in the USA, working as a police legal advisor. I travel frequently for training and consulting - basically I need internet and an airport. I work to support my wanderlust!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have the luxury of time to travel, and I prefer authentic local experiences over the usual hotel scene. I've learned that hotel accommodations are a real budget-buster, you can see/do/experience so much more when you don't have to shell out big money for a room - So, I like to welcome travelers when I'm home, and I like to meet locals when I travel -

Interests

I like live theater, bookstores and libraries, coffee shops and cafes, and unique places with great views, especially mountains and water fronts. I'm active and like to get out and see local points of interest. I enjoy finding local bike routes and trails and exploring local venues. I'm likely to take in any museum exhibitions or international films when I can find them -

  • theater
  • festivals
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • movies
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • sports
  • teaching
  • emergency services
  • law
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I particularly like live musicals (Tommy, RENT, Lion King, Les Mis, Mama Mia, ) and have things like Lady Gaga and beach music on my iPod. I read classics and novels related to whatever I'm visiting or themes of interest. I like Australian authors, and have read lots of Afghan and North Korean themes. I keep up with book lists and go from there.
I prefer movies that give insight into an issue or a culture ('Salt of the Earth' was surprisingly good) or are plain fun and entertaining (not so much on the very predictable loud car crashes and chase scenes).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent several years in Afghanistan as a Sr. Rule of Law Advisor, primarily working with local Afghan judges, prosecutors, police, and prison officials to help develop their justice system. I studied Int'l Human Rights Law for a summer at Oxford, then enrolled in a Master Degree in International Law at Melbourne University. I traveled and studied in England and Australia for 2 yrs. Australia rocks! Aussies are always welcome at my place!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a lawyer with expertise in policing, and I work as a legal consultant for law enforcement. I'm particularly interested in justice concepts and effective use of police in both the USA and international settings.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm adventurous and enjoy conversation over beer/wine/coffee. I also like to go along with whatever is on, especially sports, local festivals, movies, and live theater. I'm back in the USA!

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, France, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Nepal, Scotland, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Afghanistan, Australia, Guatemala, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Pam’s full profile.