Not Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 134 References 69 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian, Sicilian, Spanish; learning Arabic, French, German, Irish, Persian (Farsi), Portuguese, Russian, Turkish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Consultant
  • University
  • From Cape Coral, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please Read (for Surfers):

I understand that there's alot of new members, and that with the rise of the peer to peer economy people's expectations of Couchsurfing are different than they used to be. Couchsurfing is not an alternative to AirBNB. It's a site built on intercultural and interpersonal exchange. If you're just looking for free accommodation this may not be the right place to look. I made a document to help some new surfers trying to get their first couch: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-AQ1B0ea8Ouyc6oy4QCADue1c7gg9ZBw5UdTfYJX7Ww/edit?usp=sharing

Please complete your profile before sending me a couchrequest.

ABOUT ME

I was born and raised in Southwest Florida in a Sicilian family. I've been fortunate enough to travel a lot of places and meet a lot of wonderful people through couchsurfing. I'm extremely interested in Feminism, Post-Colonialism, Critical Theory, as well as anyway that those can intersect with linguistics.

I moved to 2 years ago Chicago to get involved with the technology scene and develop new relationships with startups and other entrepreneurs.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For me travel will always be principally an intercultural exchange. I grew up in a bicultural household and I value very deeply learning other people's perspectives. Generally, I have found the smallest town with a good host is better than even the most sprawling metropolis without the insight and opinions of a native.

Interests

Linguistics and Minority Languages, Postcolonialism, Feminism, History, Geopolitics, People, Technology, Mostly everything stimulating!

Music, Movies, and Books

Wikipedia, NPR, BBC News, Planet Money, This American Life, Radiolab and The Economist. I read a lot of history books.

Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Hunter S. Thompson, The Big Lebowski, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Trailer Park Boys.

I like a really wide range of music, from Soca/Chutney to Southern Italian Dancehall. I use music to learn languages, so I really like to push my boundaries out of my comfort zone.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook pretty well in in six or seven cuisines, I'm most proficient in Sicilian, Middle Eastern, and South Asian cuisine. I'd love to share that with you. If you'll let me I'll talk your ear off about linguistics, and how it relates to the structure of society and the world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    32 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups