Patrick Gonçalves McLaren's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick’s full profile.

Overview

  • 73 references 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Software Engineer
  • Bachelors of Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm kind of a weird minimalist, amateur gardener, big DIYer who likes beer.

Anyhow, I'm using couchsurfing because I want to meet people. I grew up in the USA, but also Germany. I'm bilingually raised and I am really interested in WWOOFing and sustainable living in general. I love biking. I also think home automation is cool.

If you're cool and have similar interests, hit me up. I don't have Corona virus also, so that's a plus.

I'm hosting people at the PP Estate. In case I am unable to host, please try Paloma
https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/paloma-goncalves

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'd like to visit places and actually meet locals to get a better idea what the places I go to are like. I always appreciate breaking stereotypes about different cultures and countries that are implanted into my mind through the media. I basically want to see what the world is really like for myself and don't want to take anyone's word as the end all be all. Furthermore, I love enabling others travel by hosting them at my place. I really enjoy having fun, interesting people around.

I need tons of help so if you are a gardener or handy, I'd love to build stuff together!

Interests

I love hiking, WWOOFing, traveling, biking, massages, van life and mountaineering (but not the hardcore oxygen, pick ax and other gear type), listening to music, meeting kick ass people.

I have tried to keep my plastic waste to a minimum. I'm not perfect but I think about it a decent bit and try to buy the least packaged version of things that I can.

Also if you are an ASMRtist I will let you stay solely in exchange for a live session. :)

I also am interested in snakes and cheese making. Those two interests don't necessarily need to overlap.

I am also a huge fan of home repair stuff. There's so much to learn and I love giving everything a go.

  • beer
  • hiking
  • biking
  • bike riding
  • artificial intelligence
  • nlp
  • asmr

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a lot of music, mainly rap, reggae, and pop.

I'm not huge into movies except for action and comedy. I prefer stand up specials and youtube vlogs, tech vlogs, and I'm a big TYT fan. I also like ASMR videos. YouTube is my thing.

I hardly ever read books. I mainly read technical documentations of software, hardware and everything under the sun tech related. I also read news and blog posts, mostly about travel and technology.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked the Appalachian Trail in 4 months and 4 days.

I have a skydiving license.

I've seen the top of North Africa's highest mountain, Croatia's highest peak, and Greece's highest peak

I did bike tours from Saarbrücken to Montpellier (1000km) and from Brussels to Paris (400km). I attempted Athens to Thessaloniki but failed because I got attacked by dogs.

I think moving into my van is pretty amazing, too. I'm amazed anyway.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with either English or German language skills. I also enjoy cooking, so I'd love to learn how to do that better together. I'll cook a meal with you!

Also if you need something fixed, I can probably fix it. I love fixing things.

What I Can Share with Hosts

At the moment I can only offer my positive attitude, maybe some technical support, my culinary skills that are a touch over mediocre, and fixing things around the house.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Portugal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick’s full profile.

My Groups