Penelope Fry's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Penelope’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Gulf), French, German, Portuguese
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2022
  • Retired (previously was a Project Manager for building pr...
  • Bachelor of Environmental Science, Bachelor of Business M...
  • From Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Penelope (41) and Charlie (53) are a wife and husband who did the scary thing of quitting our jobs to seek out adventures together.

Are we too young to retire? Maybe. But we'll figure it out later. lol

We're into using bikes, boats and hiking boots to roam far and wide. We want to meet people who are different to us and experience new cultures. We now travel constantly, but we've rented a 'base camp' in Figueria da Foz, Portugal. Portugal is our home. We both grew up in Australia.

Why do you love your city? What do you do for fun? We'd love to meet you and learn from you. :)

Penelope and Charlie

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's really hard to meet people when you arrive in a new city. A friend has had lots of great experiences through this site so we thought we'd give it a try. Learning about new cultures/cities and just meeting interesting people is the thing, accommodation might be a bonus but it's not essential. It's all about having a chat and learning about others, avoiding touristy crap.

Interests

  • culture
  • architecture
  • board games
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • history
  • bikepacking
  • kayak

Music, Movies, and Books

Penelope - Loves most music. Like to read international news.
Charles - Big into movies and books. Huge sci-fi fan.

We both love wasting time watching YouTube, and doing travel vlogs of our fails and fun that make our family cringe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Penelope - Got a hand piercing in California with no anesthetic! (Not the smartest thing I've done!)
Charles - Travel around the Asia Pacific in an Australian submarine.

Also, both of us have overcome years of being super private on social media etc, to now being more open in order to connect with others. When you travel full time, it's almost essential if you want opportunities to meet others! Here are our socials:
🔔 The 'Adventures of a Fat Man' on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCno5mgecRE9HGTE-UKtZuzg?sub_confirmation=1
📱 Say g'day on our Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/travelfunmusiccom

Teach, Learn, Share

Penelope has experience doing business english coaching, to help with job interviews etc. Charles is an all-round useful chap.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We don't have much because we're bikepacking, but we can take you out to lunch or dinner and share our stories!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Croatia, Cyprus, England, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Bahrain, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Penelope’s full profile.

My Groups