Phil Chan

Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Phil’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Back to good ol 9-5
  • Framingham State College, MA
  • From Boston, MA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Living. Simply.


Always enjoy other people's company. I'm always up for a movie, a nice walk around the city, or have a cup of hot tasty coffee/tea. If you want to be active, I'm always up for some climbing, hiking, walking to nowhere...etc. FYI: I walk and eat really slow so prepare to wait if we go out to eat.

Born in Hong Kong. Grew up in Boston, MA USA. I quit my job of 5 years in November of 2012 and lived/traveled for 2 years. I just moved to the South Bay/ Silicon Valley area back in October of 2014. It was great to feel the freedom to not have to wake up at a certain time and be at a specific place. The best part was I never need to know what the day of the week it is.

However, I am now back to an 8 hour desk job which is meh at the moment. It allows me to save up for my next big trip.


Relax. Life is one long weekend.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've couch surfed at friends' places around the world and generally use CS to meet up with locals and travelers wherever I happen to be.


Pretty awesome except when other surfers or hosts have stinky feet. Not cool.

If I'm not courchsurfing then I would probably be doing helpx (kinda like wwoofing). I have done helpx all over Australia. From working at a pig farm to working at a 5 star island resort. Met some awesome helpxers while at it as well.


Hiking when I'm not lazy, Rock climbing, basketball, photography, dining out at dirt cheap places, traveling, movies, sit around, walk around.

I don't really plan things out. Figuring things out last minute have work quite well for me 99.6% of the time.

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I don't read too often. I tend to get tired and sleepy really fast. Usually within the first 5 minutes so it takes me a while to finish a book. But these are just a few books I enjoyed reading when I do read. The life of Mahatma Gandhi, really enjoyed 'into the wild', The hunger games trilogy, World War Z, Warm Bodies, and '11/22/63' by Stephen King (Gave up on this one cause it's like 9000 pages).

Movies: Love watching movies as long as they are not in 3D. Too expensive for my pocket. World war z, love actually, into the wild, The Castle, American Beauty, Batman trilogy, Djandgo unchained, Kingsman, Kickass, Hurt Locker to name a few.

Music: whatever sounds good to my little ears.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1) Trekking in Nepal.

2) Backpacked and hiked 50+ miles in the Grand Canyon.

3) Bought and lived in a camper van for 3 months in Oz.

5) Hitchhiking in Australia, South Korea, and Japan. Met a lot of great people.

6) Cycled around the country/Island of Taiwan.

Teach, Learn, Share

Just a couple of things I'd like to share and learned:

Travel has a way of humbling you. When you feel like you have accomplished or seen so much, start traveling and you'll begin to feel just how little you are in this big small world.

Don't be judgmental. Give everyone a chance. Open up and talk to strangers. Everyone has their own life stories to share and you just might learn something from them that may surprise you. Happened to me plenty of times during my travels.

What I Can Share with Hosts

ummm french fries if I have any.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Australia, Cambodia, China, Costa Rica, Dominica, Grenada, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Puerto Rico, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Phil’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups