Dan Stroiman's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile.


  • 91 references 75 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian; learning Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • English teacher/actor/traveler
  • I went to university in the States. Don't worry - I am a ...
  • From Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I’ve been back in the US for nearly 3 years after living abroad in Hungary for 7 years. I miss all of the travel and adventures. Starting to fly again for the first time since COVID came on the scene.


To start traveling the world (and this country) again, and to eat a lot of gummy candy while doing it.


I moved back to the US in the summer of 2019 after living and working in Budapest for 7 years as an English teacher.

I am gay and Jewish. If you have a problem with either of these things, we probably won’t get along. I've encountered some problems in the past, and I don't want to experience them again. Thanks.


Love comes in all forms. All are equal.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted many CS-ers/was hosted by many CS-ers during my time in Europe. I like both and try to actively participate as much as I can.


While abroad, I hosted:

2 girls from Brno, Czech Republic
2 guys from Angers, France
2 girls from Istanbul, Turkey
2 guys from Warsaw, Poland
2 guys from Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 guy from Madrid, Spain
1 guy from Krakow, Poland
1 guy from Belgrade, Serbia
1 girl from Philadelphia, PA, USA
1 girl from Uzhhorod, Ukraine
1 guy from Hereford, England
1 guy and 1 girl from Zagreb, Croatia
1 guy from Kyoto, Japan
1 guy from Melbourne, Australia
1 guy from Mexico City, Mexico
1 guy from West Virginia, USA
1 guy from Jakarta, Indonesia
1 guy from Beijing, China
1 girl from Maryland, USA
1 guy from Tel Aviv, Israel
1 guy from Berlin, Germany
1 couple from Arkansas, USA
1 guy from Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 girls from Prague, Czech Republic
1 girl from Kazakhstan
1 couple from Copenhagen, Denmark
1 guy from Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 guy from Prague, Czech Republic

I've couchsurfed in:

Krakow, Poland
Belgrade, Serbia
Zagreb, Croatia
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Madrid, Spain
Barcelona, Spain
Porto, Portugal
Frankfurt, Germany
Uzhhorod, Ukraine
Kiev, Ukraine
Stockholm, Sweden
Malmo, Sweden
Copenhagen, Denmark
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Munich, Germany
Riga, Latvia
Tallinn, Estonia
Sofia, Bulgaria
Prishtina, Kosovo
Sarajevo, Bosnia
Mostar, Bosnia
Tirana, Albania
Paceville/St. Julians, Malta
Reykjavik, Iceland
Hjalteyri, Iceland
Oslo, Norway
Oradea, Romania
Tbilisi, Georgia
Vilnius, Lithuania
Gothenburg, Sweden
Ödsmål, Sweden
Larnaca, Cyprus
Regensburg, Germany
Moscow, Russia
St. Petersburg, Russia
Astana, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Vilnius, Lithuania (again!)
Minsk, Belarus
Warsaw, Poland
Podgorica, Montenegro
Baku, Azerbaijan
Amman, Jordan
Dudestii Vechi, Romania
Las Vegas, NV, USA (with 2 different hosts) -- my first time CS-ing in my home country :)


Sex, drugs, rock and roll. Ya' know, the usual. Just kidding. My main passions are theater and languages. I'm a huge musical theater buff. I acted in and out of college. Now I just dream of Broadway. I also love languages -- I speak Hungarian, French, some Italian, am currently learning Spanish, can read and write Hebrew (don't know what I'm reading most of the time), and speak a wee bit of German.

I really like Asian food -- Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese (not so familiar with Korean, Laotian, Burmese, but I'm sure I would like these as well). If you cook Asian food for me I will be your best friend.

I also really really really really really like gummy candy. If you bring me gummy candy I will be your best best friend.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies -- Yes. I like them. Thanks for asking!

Music -- A bit of everything, but mainly cheesy '80s pop (Duran Duran, The Cure, A-ha, Alphaville, Pet Shop Boys, etc.) and musicals.

Books -- I'm illiterate, so I haven't succeeded in reading a complete book yet! But, if I were able to read, I'd read: The Narnia Chronicles, The Thief of Always, A Tale of Two Cities, The Time Traveller's Wife, The Phantom Tollbooth, The Harry Potter series....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was on a mountain in Israel when the new millennium rolled in. Surprisingly, the world did not end. :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I thoroughly enjoy CS, however, I have some major pet peeves:

1. If I send you a couch request, please respond in a reasonable amount of time. I try to respond as soon as possible to couch requests I receive. 1 week to 10 days is not a reasonable amount of time to respond.

2. If I host someone or am hosted by someone, I leave a reference as soon as the CS experience is over. Please do the same. It should not take weeks or months to do so.

That being said, thanks for reading :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Israel, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile.

My Groups