Logo orange

Piret Vacht

Kose, Harju county, Estonia

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Piret's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Estonian, Finnish; learning French, German, Swedish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student (ecology), College teach...
  • MSc geo-ecology
  • From Tallinn
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To do as many of the things, I love, as I can! Which mostly means: work hard on popularizing soil science, soil ecology and environmental science, writing my articles, discovering new things.

ABOUT ME

I have found the thing that interest me the most - soil ecology and teaching. I am a PhD student at Tallinn University and that is where I spend a lot of my time, I also teach at a high school part time. Other than that I love nature, hiking and interesting people. I enjoy good movies and tv shows, good books and nice architecture.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host and have surfed, occasionally meet up with people. Other than that I don´t have time for much. It is always easier for me to meet up with someone in Tallinn for lunch/dinner/coffee or show them around town than just host, as I live about 30-45 min out of town by car or bus.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted and surfed, met up for coffee or beers, showed people around town and been shown around towns. Got advice from CS and have given it back to people.

Interests

research=studying=teaching, movies, books, travelling, nature, writing

Music, Movies & Books

books: sci-fi, fiction, educational (too many to list) movies: Big Fish, Into the wild, Tim Burton movies, Fantastic Mister Fox, Moonrise kingdom, Safety not guaranteed, I origin etc; tv shows: Black Books, Green Wing, Dead Like Me, Lost, Parks and Recreation, that 70s show, Bates motel, torchwood, Spirited, Haven, Outlander; music: Nouvelle Vague, Scandinavian Music Group, Magenta Skycode, Sigur Ros, Belle and Sebastian, Bon Iver, the Weepies.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Seen thousands of amazing diatoms, collembolans and mites etc - seen what goes on inside the soil (or at least a fraction of it) - and they are not "creepy" :)

Appreciated the small things in life - playing badminton barefoot in my own front lawn, got my fingernails dirty from gardening, breathing fresh air while hiking, the morning frosty air on my way to the bus, cooking from scratch and so much more.

Teach, Learn, Share

Languages: Estonian, basic Finnish/Swedish; nature/ecology/geology/geography/some history/culture,

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Estonia, Finland

Join Couchsurfing to see Piret's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile